Shrinkvivor Check-In: Tribe Hodari Gray

20111005-084210.jpg

Today was our first weigh in for Shrinkvivor and based off of my Weight Watchers weigh in yesterday I knew better than to expect a big loss. This morning I weighed in at 215.8 pounds (side note: on my check in form I accidentally put 115.8. Luckily I caught it before I hit submit) for a weekly loss of 1.4 pounds. In terms of the competition it’s not a great number but for me personally it is fabulous. I would just like to point out that 215.8 represents a new lowest weight AND it means I have lost over 70 pounds! I couldn’t be more excited. I can just feel those 190’s getting closer – they are almost in my reach. I wholeheartedly feel I can get there by the end of the year and reach my goal.

OK, back to Shrinkvivor. As I said earlier, a 1.4 pound loss probably isn’t great in terms of the competition especially since our primary goal is to lose weight in order to stay in it. However, we also had a fitness challenge that would offer the winning tribe immunity for the week. I knew I needed to work as hard as I could to help my team get immunity or else I might be off to Exile Island. Our challenge was to get up and get moving and to log our exercise minutes. I have posted my log from the week and you can see my results below. As I am still trying to figure out all the ins and outs of this contest I am unsure if immunity will be granted to the tribe with the highest total of exercise minutes or to the tribe with the member who logged the highest individual number of minutes. I re-read the post from last week and still can’t determine how it will work. I am guessing I will find out tomorrow when the results are revealed. Until then I will patiently wait, hoping I did enough for my tribe to keep us all here another week.

Oh, and by the way, we are now Tribe Hodari Gray. We changed our name up, as most tribes have done, to better reflect our team. Hodari is the Swahili word for courageous. I think it is quite fitting.

Week 1 Exercise Log

Wednesday:

Yoga 12p-1p – 60 minutes

Combo Class (1/2 boxing, ½ boot camp) 5p-555p – 55 minutes

Kickboxing Class 6p-655p, technically 55 minutes but when we do back to back we don’t have to do the first ten minutes of jump rope – 45 minutes

160 minutes

Thursday:

Nia 530-630p – 60 minutes

Qigong 645-8p – 75 minutes My triceps were so sore from doing 4 boxing classes this week that I knew I wouldn’t be able to survive qigong class- we hold poses with arms up or extended for like 5 minutes at a time.

135 minutes 60 minutes

Friday:

Nia 530-630p – 60 minutes

60 minutes

Saturday:

Nia 930-1030a – 60 minutes

Yoga Seminar 11a-1p – 120 minutes

180 minutes

Sunday:

Journey Dance 10-1115a – 75 minutes

Nia Workshop 3-4p – 60 minutes

Nia 4-5p – 60 minutes

Kundalini Yoga 7-815p – 75 minutes

270 minutes

Monday:

Yoga 12p-1p – 60 minutes

Combo Class (1/2 boxing, ½ boot camp) 5p-555p – 55 minutes

Kickboxing Class 6p-655p– 45 minutes

160 minutes

Tuesday:

Pilates 430-530p – 60 minutes

Nia 530-630p – 60 minutes

120 minutes

Total Estimated Minutes: 1085 minutes

Actual Minutes Logged Week 1 Shrinkvivor: 1,010 minutes

You might think that is a very high number, and it is, but I know it isn’t the highest as one of my tribe mates logged in 1,111 minutes. That’s just crazy. For me, 1,010 minutes in a week probably won’t happen again anytime soon. This week I had some extra help from the yoga seminar, 4 boxing classes instead of my usual two, and a Nia workshop. Our fitness challenge for week 2 is going to be the same as last week’s- logging exercise minutes. You can see my weekly plan below. This also reflects what a typical week looks like for me and I expect that if we continue these types of challenges this will be a pretty standard result.

Week 2 Planned Exercise Log

Wednesday:

Yoga at work 12-1p – 60 minutes

Thai yoga for 90 minutes (445-615p) but will not log this as exercise as it is more like a massage/assisted yoga so not going to count as exercise

60 Minutes

Thursday:

Nia 530-630p – 60 minutes

Qigong 645-8p – 75 minutes

135 minutes

Friday:

Nia 530-630p – 60 minutes

60 minutes

Saturday:

Tai Chi 8-915a- 75 minutes

Nia 930-1030a – 60 minutes

135 minutes

Sunday:

Journey Dance 10-1115a – 75 minutes

Nia 4-5p – 60 minutes

135 minutes

Monday:

Yoga 12-1p – 60 minutes

Combo Class (1/2 boxing, ½ boot camp) 5p-555p – 55 minutes

Kickboxing Class 610-655p– 45 minutes

160 minutes

Tuesday:

Pilates 430-530p – 60 minutes

Nia 530-630p – 60 minutes

120 minutes

Total Estimated Minutes: 805 minutes

Tune in tomorrow to see what happens to Tribe Hodari Gray! Thanks for reading!

October 5, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , . Shrinkvivor, Weight Loss.

10 Comments

  1. Simply Sidney replied:

    wow, I’m just like, wow, how did you do all that!! You’ve already won. You are so amazing!!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! It was a very busy week but I felt good which is what is important.

  2. Laura P replied:

    Wow, wow, wow. 1000+ minutes of exercise? Wow. Way to kick butt on the fitness minutes and congrats on your 1.4 loss this week.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! It was a very busy week but it was alot of fun!

  3. Jill Fickling-Conyers replied:

    70 lbs…that is wonderful. You should be so proud of yourself and I bet your team see it that way too.

    You rocked week 1!

    Blog: Life As I See It [Fitness, Health and Happiness]

    FB: Life As I See It [Fitness, Health and Happiness]

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you! I hope they see it that way too!

  4. Adah replied:

    you are off to a great start! Good luck with the challenge!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you! Good luck to you as well!

  5. Lissa replied:

    OMG! That is a ton of minutes! Way to go!

    70 lbs gone? FABULOUS!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! It’s been a crazy journey but I am so happy to be here! My life is a 180 from 7 months ago and I don’t take that for granted. I just keep working to get me to a healthy place.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

