Weekend Reading

Today I am linking up with my friend James over at James and Jax for her first blog hop. I am still a novice blogger so I am hoping to do this correctly. If not, I am sure someone (James) can tell me how to fix it 😉

20111010-140331.jpg

The blog hop topic is weekend reading and we are supposed to write about what we’re reading, places we like to read, favorite thing to read, etc. So here is my post dedicated to reading, or really the lack thereof, going on in my life these days.

What I’m currently reading: Nothing. Well at least not in the traditional sense of the term. Right now the only things I seem to be reading are Twitter, cookbooks/blogs for recipes, and websites for product reviews because I want to buy an additional yoga mat. It has probably been at least six weeks since I have actually read from a book. It’s embarrassing to admit.

Last thing I’ve read: I thought that the last thing I read was the Hunger Games Trilogy but then I realized I read ‘My Horizontal Life’ by Chelsea Handler when we were home when my Dad was in the hospital. That was two months ago. So, yeah; it’s been awhile. Yikes!

What I wish I was reading: The next book I plan on reading (hopefully soon) is ‘The Laughing Sutra’ by Mark Salzman. It’s short and I know I could easily read it over a weekend if only I just made some time to do so. Who knows, maybe the next time I will be writing about my thoughts on the book. Note to self: take book from bookshelf and put on bedside table 🙂

My favorite thing to read: Right now my favorite thing to read is blogs. I have been really crappy about not commenting, or waiting a few days or so and then going back to comment, but please know I am reading your blogs all the time. I usually read them as soon as they pop up in my email. I love reading about your lives and seeing into your world. It’s an amazing connection and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

My favorite place to read: I love reading outside. I am not too particular where outside just outside. There is something synergistic about the calming effect of reading paired with the relaxation I feel being in nature that is truly amazing.

If you want to write about what you’ve been reading lately and link up to the blog hop please head over to this post for instructions on what you need to do. As always, thanks for reading!

October 10, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , . Reading, Relaxation.

4 Comments

  1. jamesandjax replied:

    Aww, thanks for participating! First, you did link up correctly! Yay you! Second, you can add the code to your post (copy/paste from “Get the code here” at the bottom of my bloghop under “click here to enter” and insert the code into the HTML view of your post, then update) so that others can “hop” right from your blog to the next one on the list. That’s optional, but it makes it a little more fun.

    Now onto commenting about your post! I swear, if I didn’t have a Kindle, I’d never read. Let me clarify that, actually: If I didn’t have a booklight attached to my Kindle, I’d never read. That = reading in bed and not having to get out of bed to turn off an overhead light = happy Jaime.

    I was awful in September at commenting on the blogs I love to read. I’m trying to rectify that this month. 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Yeah, I have a kindle and I have a reading light for it but yet I still am not reading. Trying to change that. Put ‘the laughing sutra’ on my nightstand and read a couple chapters Monday. Yay! Progress!

  2. mamaknowsitall replied:

    I love reading blogs, too, but my eyes have been giving me trouble lately, so I’ve really been diving into my books. That being said, most of the books I read are suggestions from bloggers!

    • Dacia replied:

      Any good books you’ve read lately? I would love some recommendations.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

