Weight Watchers and Weekly Update

It’s Tuesday and you know what that means- weigh in time! If you follow me on Twitter then you already know how it went. I encourage you to keep reading though because I am going to write about some other stuff and there may be some pictures of today’s outfit at the end 🙂 I knew today I would have a good weigh in result because I woke up weighing 211.4 pounds. I almost fell off the scale when I saw that. Damn that number is getting close to 209. Yay! So I went in to the meeting confident that scale would reflect the changes and progress I have made this week and it did. I was down 5.4 pounds. Raise the roof! Hopefully this carries over to tomorrow’s weigh in for Shrinkvivor- I owe it to the team to pull my weight (no pun intended) on the scale this week.

280/213.4/150 – I just realized my WW weight loss so far is 66.6 – creepy!

You might be curious as to what changed this past week. I know some of you asked what changed when I had lost 7 pounds two weeks ago. So here is a list of the things I have been doing differently. I want to stress though that I am not making these changes for weight loss purposes but because it is what is making/keeping me feeling good, energetic, and regular. Yes, there will be more poop discussion in this post. Sorry.

I needed to eat more. One thing I noticed was that I was struggling using all my WW daily points and wasn’t even touching my weeklies or APs. That’s ok for some people but for me, someone who earns on average 90+ APs a week (110 last week), I need to be eating more. For those of you non-WW people, it basically means I am working out all the time so I need to increase my caloric intake. However, I struggled with this because I don’t want to force myself to eat when I am not hungry and so I added some new snacks into my rotation. My favorite so far is one slice of Cinnamon Raisin Ezekiel Bread with one tablespoon of almond butter. That might not sound like much but it is 5 WW points. I have it as my first morning snack in place of the 0 point apple I used to eat then. I save the apple for the end of the day; pre-workout.

I have drastically cut back on dairy and meat. I have dealt with irregularity my entire life. Until I was in high school I thought it was normal to poop only 1-2 a week. I won’t go into details but even throughout this process I have found myself facing the constipation dilemma. To help things out I take probiotics and fiber daily. That helps but not enough. I started using the Amazing Grass Chocolate Superfood in my morning smoothie and that has probiotics which helps too. I have even started drinking Kombucha which is a tea-based beverage, an elixir really, that also aids in digestion. All of these things have helped me greatly however nothing has helped as much as continuing to use these products and eliminate dairy and meat from my diet. I am not saying I am a vegan or that I will ever be able to sustain a vegan lifestyle but for now I am trying my best to stick to it as much as possible. On Saturday, while shopping, Paul and I stopped at Red Mango for some frozen yogurt. Side note: giving up yogurt is by far the hardest thing for me to give up. I am a yogurt junky. I always have been; even before starting my WLJ. Well, Paul and I were both hungry and in the same shopping center as Red Mango so I couldn’t say no. It had been a week of no dairy but I figured it wouldn’t be a big deal. I ate a small yogurt and guess what? I didn’t poop again until Monday morning.

Maybe it’s just me. Maybe I am overreacting by cutting out dairy and meat. Really I am not even sure I will cut out meat completely that just kind of happened by trying to eat dairy free. I do think that eliminating dairy is wise for me, knowing how hard it is on my digestive system. So if you were to ask me what has helped the best I would say to you eliminate dairy. If you have the same problems I would say just do it. It’s hella cheaper than taking all kinds of pills and drinking elixirs. Try it and see if it works for you. Also, I made vegan lasagna on Sunday and it was awesome. Paul said it was really good. Not just good for vegan lasagna but as good as regular lasagna. I think that speaks volumes about vegan recipes- if they’re good, everyone will like them.

It’s not all about diet. Yes, it is very important what you put into your body but the other half of the equation is exercise/activity. Those of you that know me see what my life is like on a daily basis and know it revolves around being active. I try to do some form of activity daily. I switch it up between intense cardio of boxing, slow intrinsic muscle movements of Tai Chi and dancing my butt off somewhere in the middle at Nia and Journey Dance classes. Every week I plan out in advance what activities I will do which helps keep me prepared and the excitement for the classes helps keep me motivated. I talk about all of this frequently but one thing I don’t mention too often is what else these activities provide me. Qigong, for example, is medicinal. It is an Eastern practice that helps heal your body. I try to never miss Thursday Qigong classes because when I do my body feels it immensely. This past Sunday night when I should have been at Kundalini yoga I opted to stay home and do a PM yoga routine as well as a Qigong for Cleansing DVD to help detox my body. It’s what I physically wanted to do. I try not to ever force myself to do something my body doesn’t want to do. Although I talk a lot about the classes I take and all the crazy seminars I go to I do realize that not everyone has access to this stuff in the towns they live in. If you are interested in doing Qigong though I highly recommend the line of DVDs from GAIAM, the yoga mat people, they are just as good as going in to a class. Also, Qigong requires no special equipment and very little space.

Some other things I may have mentioned previously but want to reiterate here:

I don’t drink soda; I haven’t in months. I drink green tea every morning. Coffee only on the weekends (now mixed with almond milk) and sometimes unsweetened iced tea. Other than that all I drink is water; and lots of it.

I try to focus on conscious eating and have managed to break the habit of mindless eating.

I eat tons of raw fruits and veggies. Although I still eat out and I still eat store bought items I have greatly reduced the amount of processed food in my diet.

In addition to probiotics and fiber I also take vitamins

I try not to eat within three hours of going to sleep. If I am really hungry I will break this rule and have a small snack. I try to opt for fresh fruit but that doesn’t always happen so when I do snack I try to make the smartest choice possible.

I track, measure, portion everything. Every BLT, too. That’s Bites, Licks, and Tastes for the non-WW. I am not kidding. I have multiple entries in my tracker that say 1 point, licked almond butter off measuring spoon or 1 point, bite of Paul’s sandwich, etc. They all count so there is no reason for me not to count them.

Well, that is all I can think of for now. If you have any questions please feel free to ask. Just remember your journey and my journey may have them same end result but that doesn’t mean we will travel the same path. What works for me may not work for you. Heck, it might not even work for me two months from now. Just keep focused and adaptable and know that you will get there in your own time. When things get tough just keep this in mind:

“Dieting is hard. Maintaining weight is hard. Being fat is hard. Choose your hard.” @Karen McCoy

Thank for reading!

What, did you think I forgot the pictures? Here you go.

Outfit #2 AKA lucky weigh in outfit 🙂

20111011-153358.jpg

20111011-153409.jpg

20111011-153420.jpg

October 11, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , . Weight Loss, Weight Watchers.

10 Comments

  1. juleen76 replied:

    Wow, thanks for the great update! Every time I read your posts about your workouts, I am just so in awe of you. I started out weighing quite a bit less than you but have really struggled to be active, now you’ve lost more than twice as much as I have and are now almost the same weight as me! I finally did something about it just today and signed up for a local women’s fitness center that offers tons of classes that I look forward to begin taking. How do you motivate yourself to go to all of these classes though, and how do you physically manage to do it all?

    • Dacia replied:

      Here is my advice to you; find a class or classes you love to do and that will keep you motivated and excited to workout. Don’t take on too much too fast. I started off at 3-4 times a week doing moderate exercise. Now I take classes pretty much every day but not because I want to burn calories but because it is fun and I love it. That makes all the difference.

      Another big reason I have stayed on track is by breaking bad habits. Once I finally learned how to not mindlessly eat, like sitting on the couch watching tv eating a whole bag of chips, it became much easier. Not easy but easier. So i would say focus on a bad habit that is affecting your WLJ and work towards breaking it. It takes time, you need to be dedicated and having support helps, but it will pay off tenfold.

      Also, make sure you are switching up your exercise and your diet pretty regularly. This will help you both physically and mentally.

      There are so many things I have learned and changes I have made along the way that have helped me get here, I could go on forever but I will leave you with these three things and if you need more later let me know. Good luck! I know you can get back on track!

  2. Simply Sidney replied:

    211.4 holy cow, 5.4 pounds and do you see yourself in those pictures, ooh la la meow 😀
    You’ve got to be feeling pretty fantisic and not just b/c of your weight, but b/c of how well you are taking care of your body and mind

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks Sidney! I am happy for the results on the scale but I do think it’s more important to be happy in how I feel physically and emotionally which I do. I could never be successful if I forced myself to do things I didn’t like or eat things I didn’t want to. I think this process is just all about learning what our true wants/needs are.

  3. yerttle replied:

    You need a supersuit. “Incredible Shrinking Woman!”

    • Dacia replied:

      You need one too! We could be twins! 🙂

  4. Tamara replied:

    You look great! I am back home and doing Weight Watchers again. I feel really confident about it. I love reading your blog!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Good luck with Weight Watchers Tamara! I am confident you will do well on the program. Welcome back! Can’t wait to catch up with you!

  5. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Damn, gurl! (said with gusto 😉 ) Keep up the amazing work! Also, good for you figuring out what has been bothering your system. Hope you find an amazing yogurt alternative!

    • Dacia replied:

      I know non-dairy yogurt exists but I haven’t seen one that has the same protein as Greek yogurt or skyr. I will let you know if I ever end up trying one.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

