Shrinkvivor Check-In: Tribe Hodari Gray

If there was any doubt in my mind before there isn’t now. I am a weight loss blogger. Period. End of story. Yes, I do write about other things but those posts are getting few and far between and what has taken over is a blog almost entirely dedicated to my weight loss journey. I am okay with that though. It’s a big part of who I am now and I love being able to share it with you. I hope you don’t mind. Actually, I hope you enjoy it and learn from it and hopefully together we can help each other through whatever struggles and difficult conditions we face. You are my support system and hopefully I am part of yours as well. So thank you for being part of my journey. I am so lucky to have so many incredible people walking beside me.

With that being said; here is today’s weight loss blog post 😉

Shrinkvivor Week 2 Check-In

This morning at the even earlier than the butt crack of dawn I was up with Paul so we could take a photo of the scale. Paul got up at 4am, even earlier than usual, because he had an 8 mile run on the agenda for PT. So I too was up at four. Was able to weigh myself and get a picture and be awake just long enough to know I wasn’t going to be able to go back to sleep. So, I made my smoothie and settled in on the couch to watch the rest of last night’s Biggest Loser episode. Man, that episode was a tear-jerker. I cried almost the whole time. But I digress, back to the weigh in. Drum roll please…. And the scale says:

20111012-081313.jpg

210.8 pounds!

That means I lost five pounds this week. Yay! It also means I’ve lost over 75 pounds since 2/22/11. Double yay!

For the challenge results, number of exercise minutes logged, I posted 820 minutes this week. Yes, it is down from the week prior but I knew it would be since the yoga seminar and Nia workshop were over. I planned my results to be at 805 and ended at 820. I am pleased. 820 minutes is still a huge number; that’s 13 hours and 40 minutes. It’s practically a part time job. I don’t know how much more I could increase it and not get burned out. I like working out a lot, don’t get me wrong, but I still need to balance it with work and my home life. I love being in this contest but I love my family more. 820 minutes is the perfect amount for me to have the best of both worlds. I hope it’s enough to keep me in the contest but if not I will head gracefully over to Exile Island and continue to work my hardest there.

This week’s challenge, if I make it through tribal council, is going to be a bit difficult. It is to track our exercise MILES. Never mind, they switched it back to exercise minutes. I am happy for the switch because it was going to be tough for me adding more activities to my routine in order to be able to track miles. With that being said; this is a challenge so I should try to step it up a little this week and try to literally challenge myself. So my goal is to increase my exercise minutes by almost 10% this week hoping to hit 900 minutes logged. I am going to add in a lunchtime walk on Friday and hopefully attend yoga in the park (which is free- it’s at McAllister Park at 12p) on Saturday and that extra 90 minutes should help me achieve my goal.

Wish me luck!

Tune in to the Sisterhood tomorrow night to see who get eliminated. Hoping Tribe Hodari Gray can get immunity again this week- I definitely don’t want to see anyone go off to exile.

Thanks for reading!

October 12, 2011. Tags: , , , , . Shrinkvivor, Weight Loss.

15 Comments

  1. jamesandjax replied:

    Wow, by Thanksgiving you will be out of the 200s for sure, even with the tiniest weight loss each week (which hasn’t been happening). Maybe even by Halloween! I hope you plan to post a lot during the holiday season about how to avoid temptation, because I am already fantasizing about cookies and pies.

    • Dacia replied:

      Maybe not by thanksgiving but I am hoping for sure by the end of the year. I can’t wait!

    • Dacia replied:

      Oh, and I can definitely post on avoiding temptation but I think that avoidance is unrealistic. I think the holidays we just need to plan and practice moderation. You don’t want to deprive yourself of what you love or you’ll go crazy and eat way more than you would have if you just allowed yourself to enjoy treats in moderation.

  2. Gerrie Blizzard Shaeffer replied:

    Congrats on your weight loss this week and overall! You are doing GREAT!!

    Go Tribe Hodari Gray!!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! I know this week will be rough- its my TOM but I am hoping to keep the exercise minutes up and do whatever I can to help our tribe.

      Go Tribe Hodari Gray!

  3. cassiebehle replied:

    Best of luck! And congrats on losing – that’s quite the feat for one week! Gotta feel incredible. 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks Cassie! It does feel pretty fanfreakingtastic!

  4. roo (@colormeroo) replied:

    What an amazing accomplishment you’ve made in the weight loss realm in less than a year (and this week, too)! Keep up the great work!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much. As I have progressed it didn’t feel like much and then bam! I was at fifty pounds lost! And then I kept plugging along and bam! I’m at 75 pounds lost! It’s pretty crazy. Somedays I still can’t believe it.

  5. Brooke F (@frugltrophywife) replied:

    great job on the loss and all those minutes logged! finding that balance between burn out and drive is difficult, but as long as you stay aware you’ll be good. *\o/*

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! For me I have found it to be so much easier since I found things I love to do.I never struggle making it to class but instead look forward to it every day!

  6. Adah replied:

    Way to go on that loss. It takes a lot of work to find the perfect balance but you can do it. Keep up the good work!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! It’s very important to find balance in everything we do. It takes time but when you find it things seem so much easier. Definitely less stress!

  7. Ann Gregory (@annsgonnablow) replied:

    Wow!! that’s an awesome accomplishment on the weight loss this year! Even more amazing are those exercise minutes! Share your secret, k? I’m training for the Komen 3 Day so I’m getting alot of exercise minutes in on the weekends but I’m still shy around 100 minutes from what you got in this week!

  8. Simply Sidney replied:

    I bet you loved seeing that zero pop up in there!! You better start preparing yourself for leaving the 200s behind 😀

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

