Random Thoughts

Random topics and thoughts to help get you through your Thursday 🙂

1. In case you hadn’t heard a 4.6 magnitude earthquake hit about 50 miles outside of San Antonio this morning. I was at work, on the ninth floor of a ten floor building, when it happened. The building was swaying; it felt like I was on a boat. I got a little seasick but it passed pretty quickly. Since everyone felt it we all immediately wondered if it was our building possibly about to collapse (kidding, sort of) or if we had an earthquake. People were on their phones and scouring the internet trying to figure out what had happened. It took about 20 minutes but we finally were able to confirm that it was an earthquake. How random? About thirty minutes after the quake our building was evacuated so they could check for structural damage. I was hoping this process would take a long time and we would be able to hang outside and enjoy the fall weather but it wasn’t too long before we were being told we could go back in. Oh, well. I have already lived through a San Antonio snow day I shouldn’t hold my breath for a San Antonio earthquake day 😉

2. Today I went for a walk with the at-work lunchtime walking group. It was the perfect weather for a nice walk along the river. I really enjoyed it and I enjoyed talking with a woman in the group I had never met before. We walked together almost the whole time and it was nice getting to know her. I love meeting new people and I love having company on my walks so it was a win-win for me. Once I was back in the office I promptly went to change back into my work clothes. Unfortunately we don’t have any type of locker room /changing areas in the building I work in. When we get changed we do so in the restroom. Since I am not thrilled with the idea of throwing my clothes onto the bathroom floor while I undress I take the clothes I am changing into and hang them up on the hook on the back of the stall door. Then as I take clothes off I place them on top of my gym bag. As I was doing this clothes switch I hung my work pants on the hook and as I did I noticed the mother of all tears in the crotch of my pants. If I had to guess the tear is four to six inches long. Not sure but it basically runs the length of my lady parts. Ugh! I am pretty sure it is not noticeable from the back but I am trying to stay seated at my desk as much as possible just to be safe. This sucks. I have to pee. Not to mention these are new pants and this is only the second time I have worn them. Boo that!

3. I thought Pandora was spot on today playing all kinds of great songs I love. Then I realized I had my iPod on shuffle. LOL!

4. Will I still be able to float next summer? I am/was a very buoyant person but I think a lot of that is due to my high body fat percentage. Next summer when I am at a normal body fat percentage will I still be able to float? Paul has very little body fat and he can’t float. I wonder if that will happen to me.

5. Should I change my blog name in January once I am 34?

6. If I did another vlog would you want to see a cooking one or a Q&A one? Keep in mind if it is a cooking one it will probably be a vegan dish.

Ok, that’s all I’ve got for today. Thanks for reading!

October 20, 2011. Tags: , , , , . Life, San Antonio.

5 Comments

  1. Mary @ TheWeightress (@TheWeightress) replied:

    Earthquake in San Antonio?? That is random! I like the idea of keeping your blog name. That way when you are 60 and blogging, you’ll remember way back when you were 33 😉

  2. Simply Sidney replied:

    you gave me a good laugh,thank you, ipod on shuffle, will you still be able to float, but the rip, that’s not funny, sorry about that!!

    I’m not sure about changing your blog name, I think with all the good you are doing to your body it’s going to feel 33 for some time to come 😀

    I do think you will be able to float, it just might take a little effort on your part or check out this link http://www.floattank.com/what.html 🙂

  3. jamesandjax replied:

    Keep your blog name (and Twitter handle)–it is your “brand” afterall. 🙂 Also, you say “and counting” so I think it’s OK to keep it for the long term.

    Wow, your earthquake sounds like our earthquake in August, except that we were lucky & got the whole day off from work (after 2pm).

    That Pandora/iPod story? Priceless. Thanks for sharing.

    And I think Paul is abnormal. I can float. I’m pretty sure I weigh less than Paul, though I’m not sure I have a lower BMI. I’m a little squishy and he is a fit Army man! I think you’ll float, but won’t it be fun to test?!

  4. cassiebehle replied:

    I’d say change the name of your blog, but don’t want you to lose your following or those searching for you in the dust. Maybe something like, “34 with a rock-hard core!” 😉 Just playing around, but I’m pretty sure that regardless – a floater, that WILL make.

  5. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Thanks for the early morning giggle ;-D First the east coast now TX! Yay, for good walk, boo for pants rip (maybe a slight chuckle…). A giggle at your iPod. What a fun experiment for the summer. Keep your “brand” I agree with James. I think a Q & A vlog would be great!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

