Playing Dress Up

It’s been awhile. Ten days to be exact. This was pointed out to me this morning by my BF and although I knew it had been a long time between posts I hadn’t realized it had been ten days. Woops.  Things got a little crazy there but I am here now and hopefully will be able to get back into a regular posting schedule.

Before I get started I just wanted to remind you that today is the last day to enter my “Echotone” giveaway. Please take a minute and go check out the post and enter. I would greatly appreciate it!

These past ten days have been filled with ups and downs, far more ups then downs thankfully, and my dedication/determination/willpower was definitely tested. I made it through ok but man was it rough. I am getting a bit ahead of myself though. I should probably start from the beginning…playing dress-up.

November 4th was definitely an ‘up’ day for me. Paul and I were invited to join his friends/coworkers for a dual birthday celebration at the Coco Lounge. I was excited to go out especially because the Coco Lounge is not the type of place Paul and I usually frequent. It’s classy, it has a dress code, it requires bottle service to reserve a table- definitely far above what we are used to. Although I was excited for the chance to get out of my comfort zone and go somewhere nice I quickly realized I had nothing appropriate to wear. Luckily enough for me I have a husband who would rather me buy a new outfit instead of backing out the plans because I had nothing to wear so shopping we went. I am also lucky that Paul is not only a patient shopper but he is also honest with me about how things fit without hurting my feelings. This shopping trip was remarkably easy, probably because I was trying on nice clothes (dresses, can you believe it!) right off the rack which felt great to be able to do.

Actually the whole outfit was built around a pair of shoes; Steve Madden patent leather leopard print platform heels to be exact. It was love at first site and amazingly enough I could walk in them which I am really not exaggerating when I say amazingly enough because I have never owned high heels before. So the fact that I was able to keep myself upright was a feat unto itself. Once we had the shoes the dress was an easy find. We grabbed a few accessories and off we went.

Before our night out on the town Paul and I hit up the gym for a quick workout; four racquetball matches all of which he won. It was our first time playing racquetball since Paul broke his rib a few months ago and I was hoping that I would at least be able to get one win but no such luck. Although I still suck at racquetball one thing I did notice was that my endurance has vastly improved over the past few months. Racquetball used to be draining and I always left the gym drenched in sweat but Friday was different. It was definitely a workout but it wasn’t nearly as challenging and I barely broke a sweat. That was a pretty great victory for me seeing how far I’ve come. Now if I can just figure out how to beat Paul I’ll be set 😉

After a quick shower I did my best to make myself presentable; I blow-dried my hair (after we located the blow dryer stashed away in the basement) and put on some makeup. For the fact that the makeup I have was purchased from WM four years ago (maybe more) it really didn’t look too bad. In case you haven’t seen the picture yet, here you go.

 

*Yes, that’s Ruby in the corner trying to sneak into the picture. She’s so cute!

Now that I have these fabulous shoes and perfect LBD (that I will hopefully not fit in for much longer) I hope to be able to dress up like this more frequently. I think Paul liked the outfit too. I know we both saw that it made me feel confident and beautiful and that doesn’t happen very often. Correction: it didn’t used to happen very often.

Do you have an outfit or accessory that makes you feel confident/beautiful/sexy when you wear it? Do you like dressing up?

Thanks for reading!

November 14, 2011. Tags: , , , , , . Exercise, Fitness, Weight Loss, Weight Watchers.

18 Comments

  1. Whitney (@whitgetsfit) replied:

    Girl, you could stop traffic in those shoes! You should wear them for everyday errands, just for a little extra oomph 😉 You look great. Keep it up!

    • Dacia replied:

      That would be awesome! Maybe I’ll wear them to yoga or to the commissary. That would definitely get me some looks. Ha ha!

  2. jakennicksmomma replied:

    I still can’t get over those shoes! They are killer!!! You look amazing. Missed your posts glad to see you back on 😀 .

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! I missed you too! Glad to be back. Those shoes are pretty crazy. I love them 🙂

  3. yerttle replied:

    OhMyGosh, I love those shoes! You look amazing in that outfit! Goodonya, Girl!

    My favorite accessories: I have a pearl necklace that the hubbs got me for my birthday this year that I LOVE. It makes any outfit feel…very Julia Child. Especially with jeans and Converse. 😉 Also, I have some black peep toe heals with little bows. They make me feel like a pin up girl. (Dork alert!) Best part: I got those shoes at TJ Maxx for $20. love!

    Glad you’re back in the bloggo’sphere! and congrats on your little green star!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you! Can you believe I got those shoes at the PX? Actually I got the whole outfit there. Crazy! I am definitely impressed with the selection they offer especially since I can fit in the regular sizes. Their plus size section was all old lady clothes.

      Even when I was skinnier I was always a jeans and tshirts kind of girl. I never saw why girls spent so much time on clothes and makeup but now I get it. It just took me a few decades to figure it out. Lol!

  4. shrinkingwmn replied:

    omg, I am lusting after those shoes! I love shoes like that but don’t own any cause I never wear heels…perhaps I will hafta follow your lead tho cuz wow! The whole outfit looked great – you’re doing awesome – obviously lol. Glad you’re back! 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you! I think you should go buy a crazy fun pair of heels. I know if you do you will feel like a rock star and you will want to keep wearing them because you felt so amazing. That’s what happened for me. Even now I am thinking about what type of heels and dress i should get for a wedding i am going to in april. This time I am thinking nude heels and a dress in jewel tone color might be the way to go. Lol! I may need a second job soon. I see an expensive hobby forming once I hit goal 🙂

  5. Ginger replied:

    Love the shoes and dress! Dacia, you look amazing! Dinner must have been a ton of fun, fancy shamncy! Jealous! In a good way of course!!
    I have a massive shoe collection which of course made me feel fantastic, hopefully someday I’ll be able to wear them again!

    ps a smile is the best accessory a girl can have, and you totally have it to a science! Cheers!

    • Dacia replied:

      Ginger- next time I am back east you and I should totally go out somewhere nice and dress up! That would be so much fun!

  6. Latina Barbi replied:

    Hottie!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you very much! It takes one to know one! 🙂

  7. jamesandjax replied:

    Those shoes would even look great with jeans & a black blazer. Good find! You were smokin for date night! HOTT!

    So glad you’re back. I missed reading your blog posts. Life needs to slow down so you can blog regularly again! That’s an order! 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Yes, that would be a great outfit. Now I just need a blazer. 😉

      I will try my best to post on a regular basis. It felt weird not to.

      Thanks for always reading 🙂

  8. juleen76 replied:

    Those shoes are rockin and you look great! So glad you had a chance to get dressed up and feel beautiful!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! It was alot of fun and I hope to do it again soon!

  9. Simply Sidney replied:

    I’m late to comment on this post, although I think I already told you my thoughts, but I want to tell you again: you looked hot!!!

    Shoes for sure make me feel good!! I have a few pairs that I really like, interesting that during my heavy years I didn’t wear them, almost like those shoes would make me feel something I could seem to feel

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! It was nice to get dressed up and hopefully I can do it again soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

