Weighing In (Week 38)

I am not going to talk about the program changes discussed in my Weight Watchers meeting. The way I look at is if you are doing WW then you already know all of this and if you aren’t doing it then you probably don’t care to read about it. I will note that for whatever reason my points did not change; I was at 30 before the change and am still at 30. What I did want to discuss was my weight loss this week and the impact the change to my schedule had on my body. I lost 1.4 pounds this week, which is great – don’t get me wrong, but I had a really hard weekend and my weight was all over the place throughout the Nia White Belt Intensive. You see although I ate the same food Friday, Saturday and Sunday that I do Monday through Thursday (it was just easier to treat being gone all day at the WBI like I was going to work- breakfast at home and all other meals/snacks at the WBI) my body was not handling it the same. Why, you ask? Well there are a few reasons that come to mind. The big reason being every night I was there I was unable to eat dinner which meant I would eat dinner after we finished which was much, much later than I am used to. To make matters worse I would eat and then within an hour I would be in bed. Normally I eat around 4pm prior to working out and then maybe I will have a small snack with some Kombucha post-workout. Instead I found myself eating at 7/730p, at which point I would be ravenous and eat super fast not even paying attention to my body, and then go to bed feeling full and disgusting. You know me, I am a planner and a snacker, so you are probably wondering why I let myself get to that point where I was starving come dinner time. Well, I packed tons of snacks (I even brought extras for others just in case) and yet we just didn’t have any breaks where I could eat anything. It was definitely an unfamiliar situation for me.

In reality what I went through last weekend was not a big deal and it just goes to show me that I can prepare for anything and still things might not go as planned. My point of this whole rant is that even though I did great with my food choices, stayed OP, got in tons of activity (3-4 hours of dancing each day throughout the weekend) and maintained my water intake my weight went up every day I was off of my eating schedule. This weekend showed me that it’s not just about what I am eating it is also about how and when I am eating. It’s something I need to recognize going forward and pay more attention to it. I also acknowledge that there will be many times in life where I will be pushed off my schedule and I might even end up making bad food choices but that is part of life and I have to accept it. It does however reinforce the good habits I do have which is a definite plus.

Yesterday I posted a link to the boxing gym where I take classes at, the Club KO, where my photograph and testimonial are published. I asked if anyone would want to read the full testimonial I sent them and someone said yes so here it is, the unedited version:

In February 2011 I started my weight loss journey. Weighing in at 286 pounds I knew I had a long road ahead of me. By May, after a few months of exercising regularly and twenty pounds of weight loss, I was ready to try something new, something challenging, that would help keep me motivated in this process. I decided to give boxing a try. I was apprehensive at first since I was very overweight and pretty uncoordinated. I was even too nervous to call Club KO to find out about the pricing and whether or not I could participate in the classes at my current fitness level so I had my husband call. He was assured that although the classes were not easy they were structured in a way so we could work at our own pace and that I should be fine. He also found out that the first class is free so I had no reason not to give it a shot.

That first class was extremely hard and it took 100% of my efforts to make it to the end but I survived. It wasn’t a pretty picture; I had no idea about the proper form for punching, I didn’t know how to coordinate my breathing, my footwork was atrocious, I couldn’t hold a plank position or complete every rep in the abdominal work but I made it through the entire class which was all I was hoping for. I left that day with a huge sense of pride and accomplishment for what I had done. I pushed myself harder, for longer, than I ever had before and immediately I knew I wanted to do it again. Since then my technique and endurance has improved, in each class I find I am able to more reps and hold positions longer, with every class my confidence grows and it is all because of the trainers at Club KO.

The best part about the trainers is that they expect 100% from you every minute of every class but they recognize that my 100% and another student’s 100% is different. They didn’t expect me to come into the gym and immediately become an expert boxer. They did however expect me to learn the correct technique, test my boundaries, and push hard the whole time. They always have encouraging words when they see you are giving it your all and when you aren’t they try to motivate you to give more. I never have felt that I was treated differently because of my size or my level of ability actually it was the opposite. I have felt included and accepted from day one which has made getting to this point in my journey a reality. I know I wouldn’t be where I am today, 90 pounds lost, if it weren’t for Club KO. I am excited to continue to work with them every week to help get me to my goal and to continue on with them after in maintaining it.

Thanks for reading!

December 6, 2011. Tags: , , , , , . Weight Loss, Weight Watchers.

4 Comments

  1. jakennicksmomma replied:

    I’m so happy that you found so many great places to work out. 😀

    • Dacia replied:

      Me too! I’m lucky to be stationed in a big city with tons of great options. Finding things i love doing has definitely made this journey much easier!

  2. Simply Sidney replied:

    Thanks for sharing the full write up, it is so you, inspiring
    only problem, the write up is so out dated, b/c you have not lost 90 pds, you’ve lost 100 pds!!!!!
    😀

    It is so frustrating when my schedule changes and I’m not able to stick to my patterns, that is something I need to work on for sure. I can trust that just like those changes will happen, I will also get back to my regular schedule and back to making my goals a reality

    Thanks for your continued inspiration!!!

    • Dacia replied:

      I am glad you liked it! I can’t wait to re-do it once I hit goal. That will be so exciting!

      Schedule changes really do throw curve balls at us but I guess that’s just life, right? Need to be flexible and adaptable and ready for anything life throws at us 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

