My Nia White Belt Intensive; Part One

I wanted to share with you this video taken after the graduation ceremony from my Nia White Belt Intensive. It is the perfect illustration of what Nia means to me; happiness, community, acceptance, love, laughter, peacefulness, and friendship. The song is from a Nia routine and at some points you will see us dancing to some of the moves, jazz square – cha, cha, cha and jumping jacks, but most of it is us free dancing, having fun and celebrating this accomplishment. Not only was it a celebration for the graduates but for the trainers as well. It was an amazing day and I hope that plays through in the video.

P.S. Sorry for the fact that most of the video all you see of me is my backside 😉

Here are a couple photos I took on graduation day.

20111214-071505.jpg

Adelle Brewer and Joanie Brooks both Nia Black Belts and my trainers for the White Belt. Although I have only known them for six months they have played such a vital role in my journey. They inspire me every day and I am so lucky to have them in my life!

20111214-072213.jpg

I just had to sneak in a picture of me in my white belt. How cool???

Thanks for reading!

December 14, 2011. Tags: , , , , , . Nia, San Antonio, Uncategorized.

6 Comments

  1. Latina Barbi replied:

    Dacia!! You look fabulous!!! keep it up! muah!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much!!! {{{big hugs}}}

  2. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Looks like a great time!! Between you and Sidney, you have me curious about Nia!

    • Dacia replied:

      You should definitely check it out. I think you would really like it. The Nia website (nianow.com) allows you to search for classes in your area.

  3. Marisol (@missmarisol) replied:

    Never heard of Nia until I saw that you had that on your Twitter bio. Very interesting & it looks like a lot of fun.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks Marisol. Nia is more choreographed- what you saw there was just us being goofy and celebrating. I do think that video conveys the sense of community we share and that is a big part of Nia for me. I hope one day I can share it with you!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

