Monday Randomness!

I’m here…I’m alive….and I am almost ready for the parents to arrive in a few days. Christmas shopping- finished! Decorating (what little we decided to do this year) – finished! Grocery shopping and cooking for the week- finished! The only thing I have left to do is some cleaning, wrap presents and possibly bake some cookies but most of those things can be done while my parents are here. So, yay! I am pretty much ready for the holiday weeks to begin!

Last week I hit a huge milestone and although I did post about it on Facebook and Twitter I did not mention it on my blog. The reason why I hadn’t mentioned hitting my 100 pounds lost milestone yet is because I wanted to write this epic post thanking everyone who has helped me along the way. Unfortunately I have really struggled with writing it so over the weekend I decided that I would turn the blog post into a vlog. It will be much easier for me to convey how I feel if I just did it on video so hopefully in the next week or so I can get some time to record my thanks to you all. In the meantime let me just say that I know that I would not be where I am today if it wasn’t for Paul, my friends (that’s you 🙂 ) , family, WW members, trainers, teachers/mentors, and co-workers who have been super supportive throughout this whole process. I love you all very much and owe you big time! I only hope that one day I can return the support and encouragement you have showed me!

As you know, I have been participating in the 25 Days of Fitness Challenge (O’ Fitness Tree) from the Sisterhood and am happy to announce that I have exercised every day so far this month and my tree now has 18 shiny stickers to show for it. Yay! I have an exercise plan for 6 of the remaining 7 days in the challenge- the only day I am still not sure on is Christmas. Synergy, Club KO and the post gym will all be closed on Christmas day so my plan is tentatively to walk with Maggie, run/walk with Paul or do an exercise DVD. What I will end up doing really just depends on the weather. I know I will get some exercise in though I am just not sure what yet.

With the holidays here and my more chaotic schedule I have started going to the gym on post pretty frequently. At first I started going because it was convenient and something I could do with Paul. Now I love going (weird, I know) so I can ride the stationary bike and sit in the sauna. Just last week I decided to ride 26.2 miles on the bike to see if I could and I did in just a little over 84 minutes. Being able to do that made me feel great not only because I achieved something I set out to do but because I was doing an activity I hadn’t previously been able to do because of my weight and physical condition. When I first started exercising I could not ride the regular upright bikes so I would ride the recumbent bike at the gym. Then when I tried to ride an upright in November I was shocked that not only I was able to ride it but that I loved it. Fueled by my new found fitness capabilities (and a new pair of minimalist sneakers) I decided to test out my running ability yesterday on the treadmill on the gym. I ran a half mile in 5 minutes and 45 seconds. To most people that probably doesn’t seem like anything special, especially if you are a runner, but to me it was like I just climbed Everest. The longest I have run at one time was maybe a minute and a half so to be able to run for almost six minutes I was pretty freaking excited. Today I heading to the gym after work to hit the bike and treadmill again and will keep you posted if I reach any new distances in the future.

In other, non-weight loss related news, I had mentioned that Paul and I were playing each other in the playoffs for our fantasy football leagues but I haven’t given you any news since. That is because of two things; one being that one of the leagues we are in wasn’t in playoffs the week Paul and I played each other- it was still the regular season. I beat him but that didn’t matter too much, we both made it into this week’s first round of the playoffs where I won my game and he lost (to my father) his. The way it looks to me is that next week will be the final playoff game and I will be playing for the championship against the number 1 seed. Not likely I will win, the guy I am up against went undefeated this season, but who knows. In the other league Paul and I did play against each other in the first round. The league is set up kind of strange in that the first round of the playoffs lasts two weeks- two teams play each other for two weeks and it is the cumulative score of those two weeks that decide the winner. Right now I am up 21 points over Paul but we both have guys playing in tonight’s game; I have Akers and Mendenhall and he has Wallace so it is still anyone’s game. I will let you know how it all pans out. I am sure Paul is thrilled that my dad will be here for a week gloating about beating him in the playoffs 😉

Oh, and one last thing. Paul and I went to the Alamo Drafthouse (a super awesome movie theater that serves food and beer/wine) to go see Love Actually last Wednesday which was such a great way to spend the night. We both love that movie and it was fun to be able to see it in the theater together. If you haven’t seen this movie you should go and rent it now! It’s such a great movie! I haven’t seen any other Christmas movies yet but I am sure I will over the weekend. Speaking of the Drafthouse I am sure I will be there with my parents on Christmas day to go see a movie. I am guessing we’ll go see the new Sherlock Holmes (we saw the first one on Christmas day two years ago when they were here- and they LOVE the Drafthouse) or we’ll see the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Not sure which we’ll pick but if you have an opinion on one versus the other please feel free to share.

Thanks for reading!

Happy Holidays!

December 19, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , . Fitness, Weight Loss.

One Comment

  1. jakennicksmomma replied:

    😀

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

