You Know Me- I’m Always Planning

With another holiday weekend in front of me, I decided I needed to spend some time today and plan out the meals for the weekend. Last week, with my parents in town, we ate out almost every single day and Paul and I are kind of burnt out on restaurant food so planning to eat every meal at home was a must. We also wanted to plan super yummy vegan meals for when our friend KJ and her little daughter are over for New Year’s Eve, her husband will be working 😦 , and for our friends coming over for New Years day to watch the Cowboys vs. Giants game. We needed to make sure we planned out some awesome food so tha no one would complain about eating vegan 🙂

Oh and I should tell you now, because I don’t think I have mentioned it on here yet, that starting January 1 Paul is adopting a vegan diet as well. I did not ask him to or even try to persuade him towards going vegan- he came to that decision all on his own. I am pretty sure it was a combo of the science and research behind the film “Forks Over Knives” and the fact that Rip Esselstyn, who is the son of one of the main doctors in the film and appears in the movie, is a former pro triathlete, currently working as a fireman and eats a plant-based diet. I think seeing an athletic man speaking about the positive effects of adopting a plant-based diet without having to sacrifice health or fitness helped show him it’s more versatile than he thought.

Since Paul is going vegan I asked him if he wanted any special foods or meals before January 1, sort of like his last meal, and he said no. I think he is ready for the change, which is a good thing, and hopefully it is a smooth transition for him. I know for me life will be so much easier now that we can eat the same meals all the time. We usually eat the same things on the weekends but during the week it is each man for himself in our household. Now we can meal plan, shop, cook and eat together which is awesome. He even helped me pick out some recipes for the weekend. Believe it or not he took two vegan cookbooks with him to work today so he can start coming up with lunches and dinners he would like during the week- I was pretty shocked. Then he said to me that he wanted to make me miso soup and veggie lo mein (I love lo mein) this weekend so it is on the menu for Monday. It’s great he is so excited for this.

Meals for the New Year

Friday dinner: Veggie Burgers with Kale-Cabbage-Leek Grill Mix

Saturday lunch: Back on Track Wheat Berry and Bean Salad with side salad

Dinner: Vegan Enchiladas with Cilantro Avocado Cream Sauce, Spicy Rainbow Rice and Bean Salad, Pico de Gallo and Guacamole

Sunday breakfast: Vegan French Toast (Everyday Happy Herbivore)

Lunch/Dinner: Caribbean Peas & Rice

Party Foods: we’re going Greek-vegan; falafel, eggplant dip, tabouleh, hummus, grilled veggies, pita and a mix of fresh vegetables for dips

Desserts: Frosty No Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies and Chocolate Peanut Butter Chews

Monday breakfast: Overnight Oats

Lunch: Miso Soup with Veggie Lo Mein

Dinner: Back on Track Wheat Berry Salad (I love leftovers! They make life so much easier)

*Recipes not linked are from our cookbooks at home

On top of eating some fantastic vegan food this weekend I also have some great activities planned to help me ring in the New Year. Friday night Paul and I are going to a San Antonio Rampage hockey game which is always fun. Saturday morning after my Weight Watchers meeting we are going to go hike the Enchanted Rock. Please check out the awesome video below about the Enchanted Rock Park, it’s pretty amazing. As I said earlier we will be having KJ and her daughter MJ over for dinner and hanging out with them until MJ’s bed time which will probably also be mine and Paul’s bed time since we need to get a nap in- we are doing a midnight 5K. Since both of us are normally in bed around 9p we thought napping would be our best strategy to make it to midnight and through the race. Sunday will be a very relaxing day as we celebrate with more friends. I am meeting MS for lunch and then we are going to Synergy for their annual New Year’s Day celebration – the Burning Bowl Ceremony with Jodi Roberts and Stephanie Phillips. Then afterwards I will be watching some football (hopefully seeing the Giants destroy the Cowboys) with friends. On Monday we invited our former dog walker over to come spend some time with us and the doggies since we haven’t seen her since we moved. It should be a lot of fun. Then I plan on ending the weekend with a couple of boxing classes at Club KO and hopefully Paul will be joining me for that, too.

TPWD: Enchanted Rock

What do you have going on this weekend? I would love to hear about your plans and how you will be ringing in the New Year so feel free to comment below 🙂

Thanks for reading!

December 28, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , . Life, Recipes, Weight Loss.

5 Comments

  1. JL (@JLgoesVegan) replied:

    I’m a firm believer that food is activism and your NY weekend strategy is awesome! Fill people up with great vegan food and, well, it’s just great FOOD! I’m honored that my veggie grill mix made the menu! I hope you enjoy it.

    How great that you will both be vegan in 2012! Earlier this week I posted about the vegan an omni living together in harmony — it would be great if you could pop over and let people know how it’s worked in your house (and the awesome news about Paul) I think those of us living in “mixed” homes could use the encouragement! 🙂

    Happy New Year!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks JL! I think I commented on FB but I will definitely go back and comment on your blog. I really loved that post. The part where you said before we were vegans we weren’t gave great perspective. I just want everyone I know to be healthy, and I feel veganism will get them there, but they have to that decision on their own.

      You are exactly right- food is activism! If nothing else I will provide my friends with some really yummy and healthy food. Happy New Year!

  2. Simply Sidney replied:

    I just made my grocery list!!! Thanks for the ideas!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Are you making the cookies? How about enchiladas and veggie burgers? Would love to hear your thoughts and how the recipes went over at home. Yay!

  3. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Just came back to revisit the recipes. Thanks again 😉

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

