December Monthly Update

As you may remember back in September I had set a goal to lose 7 pounds a month, each month from September through December. That was my weight loss goal. Then in late November I decided I was going to set some additional goals to help me get through the holidays focused and on plan and that would ensure I had a little fun too. So let’s see how I did with my December, 2011 goals.

Lose seven pounds: my starting weight December 1st was 193.0 pounds, my weight January 1st was 179.4 for a total loss of 13.6 pounds! Not only did I hit my goal, I almost doubled it.

-Hit 186 pounds by the end of the year. See above 🙂

 -Complete the Sisterhood’s 25 days of fitness challenge: not only did I exercise all 25 days of the 25 day challenge, I finished the month out strong and exercised every day in December. 31 for 31, baby!

Plan out workouts while my parents are in town: it wasn’t always easy but I somehow managed to pull myself out of bed every day at 4am so I could go to the gym before work. I am pretty sure the only reason I was able to do it was because I had everything planned out.

– Plan out some fun things to do while my parents are in town: I had so much fun with my parents while they were here. We did get to do some of the things planned but not all of them. My dad is still having complications from the surgery he had in August that limited what he was able to do. All in all everyone had a great time. It was a fabulous and very relaxing Christmas!

– Hit the gym at least once a week with Paul: I went to the gym at least once a week (sometimes even 3 or 4 times) with Paul and it was awesome.

 – Blog three times a week: on average I blogged 3 times I week, I think I had 17 posts for the month, but there was a week in there where I only got two posts in.

 – Donate to charity: It took me until the end of the month but I was able to get a few (small) donations made before the end of the year 🙂

– Try a new recipe every week: Although I couldn’t name every recipe I tried off the top of my head I for certain tried at least one a week.

Bake Paul’s very belated birthday cookies: this is so sad. I still never made Paul’s birthday cookies. I did, however, make him three other types of cookies so I am thinking I am off the hook. Hopefully 😉

I didn’t set any new goals for January (aside from my resolutions) and I haven’t set a weight loss goal for the month. I am not sure I will either. I was updating my weight loss goals page on the blog the other day and I added my final two goals; reach a healthy weight and maintain it. That’s it. Those are my last two goals as far as my weight goes. I am just under thirty pounds from being at a healthy weight and normal BMI and I am ok with not setting any goals for how quickly I can get there. I am putting my health first and every decision I make is to help get me healthier so I know I will get there. That’s about all I have to say about that.

I hope you were able to read my post from Friday about the New You Challenge. If you are interested in participating you can start at any time. This is a personal challenge, not a competition, so please feel free to start up whenever you can.

One last thing before I go. I just have to point out that December was a crazy month for me weight loss wise. It was my largest monthly loss and percentage. I follow the Weight Watchers plan. I use all my daily points. I eat some of my weekly points too. I am not starving myself or doing anything in an unhealthy manner to create a big loss. Yes, I did workout every day in December but I am pretty sure I did every day in November too, that’s not anything new. I did however learn that after 12 weeks of following a plant-based/vegan diet your body reaches its full potential. December 31st marked 12 weeks for me eating vegan and I am pretty sure that is a very big reason I had such high numbers this month. Who knows. I just don’t want you to read this and feel discouraged because you didn’t lose the same amount I did this month. We are all different, our bodies are different. Even if you and I weighed the same and were the same height and ate the same foods there is no guarantee we would lose the same. Embrace the journey you are on and know that making your health your priority will get you to where you need to be.

Thanks for reading!

January 2, 2012. Tags: , , , , , . Fitness, Weight Loss, Weight Watchers.

7 Comments

  1. Latina Barbi replied:

    all I can say… I love you!! keep it up! muah!

    • Dacia replied:

      Ah, I love you too!!! Thanks for your support!

  2. Ginger replied:

    I really love your planning. It is very inspirational and I can see how it would keep you on track. Congratulations on your weight loss. Dacia, you are doing so fantastic! You are almost there, girl!!!

    Happy New Year 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Happy New Year!

      Thank you. Planning helps so much. I was never this person and then one day I realized it was who I needed to be to stay accountable and on track. Funny how we change.

  3. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Reading your post made me smile. Congrats reaching your goals! If I were Paul I would demand more cookies though… 😉

    • Dacia replied:

      Good thing Paul doesn’t read the comments. You shouldn’t go giving him any ideas. Lol!

  4. Simply Sidney replied:

    Your tree looks so pretty, my oldest took over applying my Pooh stickers so my tree has a different look 😀
    I’m looking forward to seeing what you change with your blog and reading it all year too 😀 I’d love to see a list of the blogs you vist!! I bet you visit some great places that I have not found yet

    The best will be to watch you take this year on, I’m looking forward to every step along the way

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

