My 2012 Resolutions

I have been thinking a lot about resolutions lately, which I am sure comes as no big surprise, and thought about my past and previous resolutions. To be honest, I am not really sure what resolutions I had made in the past but I am pretty sure it involved weight loss. I am guessing that is pretty typical to set a resolution to lose weight and knowing where I was in my life previous New Year’s I am not surprised why the resolutions never did stick. I am a firm believer that change can only happen in your life once you have accepted that it needs to happen and accepted what needs to be done in order to get there. I have always known that I needed to lose weight (so I was always willing to accept and allow that change into my life) yet I never accepted that there were actions needed to be taken BY ME in order to get there. I am pretty sure I thought if I willed weight loss long enough it would just happen. By February of 2011 I was ready to put forth the effort needed in order to allow me to change and I have been moving forward ever since.

With that being said I created a set of resolutions for 2012 not out of some sense of obligation but because I am now in a place in my life where I can achieve whatever I set my intentions to. I guess you could call these goals or maybe even plans but since they require resolve in order for me to accomplish them this year I choose to call them resolutions.

2012 Resolutions

– Reach a healthy weight and maintain it through the rest of the year

-Teach a Nia class

-Run a race (even if its only a 1 mile run)

-Volunteer

-Revamp my blog

-Be a better wife, daughter and friend

These are my resolutions but rest assured I have a plan, or at least a beginning of one- I mean it’s only January 2nd, for each as to how I can accomplish it. For example, one of my resolutions is to teach a Nia class this year and so Paul and I are going to empty out the spare bedroom the best we can, hang up mirrors along one wall, and convert it into a practice studio for me. I have already started thinking about how I will schedule in the time to learn the music and the routines and what activities it will replace in my schedule. So yes, I realize that these resolutions may seem vague but please understand that I am creating an action plan for each so I can be successful this year.

I want to share with you two stories I have about my resolutions and how they played into my weekend. As you may already know, Paul and I went hiking on New Year’s Eve up to the summit of Enchanted Rock and it was just amazing. When we reached the top we sat for a little while having a snack, taking in the beauty of it all, talking about 2012 and what we expected from the new year. I asked Paul about his resolutions and he said something like ‘ I hope this year that maybe I can…’. I told him that he had to say them as declarative statements of what will happen like ‘this year I will’. I told him that we were on Enchanted Rock and it is magical and whatever we say while we are here will come true. We spent the rest of our time talking about what WILL happen this year opposed to what MIGHT happen and I do belive it makes a difference. Maybe it won’t be the magic of the Enchanted Rock that makes it happen. More than likely it will be believing that we can accomplish them that will get us there but I know we will both successful in the upcoming year.

 

On New Year’s day I went with my friend MS to a Sound Journey/Burning Bowl ceremony at the Synergy Studio. As we lay on the floors listening to the Tibetan bowls we were asked to allow our bodies to present us with a theme for 2012- a word that will help set our intention for the new year. When that word came to us we wrote it on flash paper that was later set on fire and the energy from all of our intentions set out into the universe. While I was laying there listening to the music I had so many thoughts running through my mind; so many words that I thought were applicable to my journey and the year ahead. Health and healing, learning, teaching, growth and strength along with probably a dozen more words crossed my mind but I just never felt them as my theme, the driver of my intentions. So I switched my thought process and focused on my resolutions and as soon as I did that I found my theme instantly; LOVE.  My theme is love.

Reach a healthy weight and maintain it through the rest of the year- Love of myself, love of my body.

Teach a Nia class- love for Nia, a love of sharing something magical with others

Run a race- love of a challenge, love of personal growth

Volunteer- love of others, love of helping

Revamp my blog- love of you (because you deserve to look at something nice) and love of creativity and this creative outlet

Be a better wife, daughter and friend- love for my husband, my parents and my friends

Every resolution I set this year was set around love. Knowing this theme, and finding it organically, has made me recognize how truly amazing this year will be. It’s 2012 people; the year of LOVE!

What are your resolutions? Do you have a theme for the year?

Thanks for reading!

 

January 2, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . inspiration, Life.

7 Comments

  1. Ginger replied:

    My resolution and theme for the year is self-esteem! I’d like you to be my very first ever guest blogger on the topic, if you’d be interested.. I’ll send you an email shortly, let me know if you are interested! I sure do hope you will, you are a perfect shining example!

    • Dacia replied:

      Of course I would! Thank you! What an honor. Let me know the details: axid200@gmail.com

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you! I loved your post about self-esteem. It was so honest. I think you are beautiful and I know everyone else does too but without self-esteem that doesn’t matter. I hope one day we can all see ourselves the way the ones we love see us.

  2. jakennicksmomma replied:

    You look amazing in that photo! I like your theme for the year. I will have to ponder on mine.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you! Let me know if you come up with a theme!

  3. Mohammed Dawued (@tomohammed) replied:

    Google took me to your page, you got good resolutions. Here is My 2012 Resolutions

    1 — Drink a glass of water (300 ml) just right from bed in the morning
    2 — do Push up and sit up every morning

    3 — study 3 vocabularies everyday
    4 — Read a book for 30 minutes everyday

    5 — spent more time with loved one

    Good Luck for me

    • Dacia replied:

      Good luck to you! Those are wonderful resolutions. Thank you for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

