A Letter From a Friend

Today is my birthday. Woo Hoo! I am now thirty-four years old (which makes me wonder about changing my blog name- I’m seriously thinking about it) and I feel freaking fabulous. This is the first year in who knows how long that I didn’t dread getting older and seeing that number change because this is the first year in a very long time that I feel good about myself. Today I woke up and felt great, I felt ready to take on any possibility that this year holds for me and that is such a wonderful feeling. Then I looked over at my sleeping husband, my partner in crime, my best friend and soul mate and thought about the great year that lies ahead for both of us. I can feel big changes on the horizon and I can’t wait!

The other day I received a letter in the mail. It was from me. I wrote it a month ago during my Nia White Belt Intensive. During the WBI we were asked to write a letter to our body and when we finished it we gave it to someone else. Each of us agreed to send the letter at some point over the next two months. Mine came on Saturday and I was excited to read it and reflect back on how I felt when I wrote it. It is so applicable to how I feel now in this journey and I wanted to share it with you.

To my beautiful body,

​Thank you for carrying me through this White Belt Intensive and my journey so far. I was impressed by your resiliency just as I have been since we started this journey back in February. I am also impressed with your power to heal. I know, I can feel it to be true, that you were sick and hurting and now you are whole again. I try my best not to push you too hard, to understand your limits, and give you the best nourishment possible but sometimes I fail and for that I am sorry. I will try my best to honor you every day. My oldest and dearest friend. You are sacred. Without you I wouldn’t exist. Thank you for allowing me to follow my dreams and live the life I want. I cannot wait to see what is in store for us next. Are you up for the challenge?

Love,

Dacia

Have you ever written a letter to yourself? I think this is a first for me. It was pretty cool getting it in the mail. It was the perfect way to help me reflect on my journey and progress as I pass this milestone in my life. Birthdays are fun and a great reason to celebrate life. Today is my gift and I can only hope I have the gift of many more tomorrow’s to come. If you are wondering how I am celebrating you should know I have a big day planned. I am going to be participating in my at work yoga class, back to back boxing classes after work, and enjoying the healthy and tasty meals I brought to work. Yeah, it’s pretty much my typical Monday with the exception of the decorations all over my desk at work. The real celebration comes Saturday when Paul and I head to S.A.R.A (society for animal rescue and adoption) in Seguin, TX to do some volunteer work and spend the day with the animals. I can’t wait.

20120109-090938.jpg

20120109-090950.jpg

20120109-091003.jpg

Thanks for reading! Love thirty-four and counting 😉

January 9, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , . Life, Nia.

9 Comments

  1. Krystle (@THINspired) replied:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY BEAUTIFUL LADY!!!!!!!!

  2. Caryn replied:

    Happy Birthday Dacia! It’s such a great feeling to just embrace your birthday and feel excited for the year ahead. I wrote a letter (or really just a notecard) to myself once as part of a conference. You had to write a goal you had for yourself in the next six months. Mine was to “write a blog.” When I received it six months later, I hadn’t done it yet, but I started it the next day! Have a great birthday week.

  3. Latina Barbi replied:

    HaPpY BiRtHdAy MY PRETTY!!!!

  4. Shrinking Carrie replied:

    Happy Birthday Dacia!!! What a wonderful gift you have given yourself, the gift of health!

  5. Carbaholic Mama (@CarbaholicMama) replied:

    Happy Birthday!

  6. Simply Sidney replied:

    I hope you are having a wonderful day, sounds like you will have a great week, weekend, year ahead 😀

    big big hugs!!!

    We wrote letters too, mine makes me cry a little bit, very interesting
    I remember writing a letter to myself once when I was away from home for a few months, powerful stuff

  7. Tamara replied:

    Happy Birthday, Dacia. I have to say that I really have enjoyed reading your blog these last several months. You’re a fabulous inspiration. I love that you have taken this opportunity to thank YOURSELF. Not too many people think about that, I know I don’t. I should.

  8. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Hope your birthday rocked yesterday!!! Happy Anniversary!

  9. The Geek's Wife (@mrssmitty86) replied:

    New follower!
    @mrssmitty86 on Twitter
    Feel free to follow me at
    http://www.ageekswifeandherdog.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

