My Newest Addiction

For the longest time I thought I was one of those girls who hated shopping. Now I realize that I was just one of those girls who didn’t like shopping when she was obese and hated how she looked. Um yeah, since I am now able to shop at my old favorite stores I have totally caught the shopping bug. Actually let me rephrase that, I caught the clearance/sale/discount shopping bug. 🙂

It all started on December 26th when Paul and I woke up to see that the Gap had the entire store 50% off. So, to the Gap we went. For less than $100 I bought three pairs of work pants, three sweaters, a long sleeve shirt, and a short sleeve work appropriate shirt. I think I have gone shopping for one thing or another every weekend since Christmas. Two weeks ago Old Navy had all their active wear on sale and I snagged two pairs of compression pants and two sports bras. Then last weekend they had all their clearance items 50% off and I made out like a bandit.

20120126-082314.jpg

Size 10 jeans (woot!) for 7.50

20120126-082348.jpg

Size medium (double woot!) cargo pants 6 bucks

I also bought that plaid shirt for 6.50- it’s an XL. I still have to buy XL in most button down shirts or else it pulls open around my chest. Not very classy 😉

20120126-082430.jpg

A new coat size medium (that will hopefully be the last coat I need to buy for a long time) for only $20 bucks.

I’ve also been shopping the clearance racks at the PX (the department store on post) and have found some really great deals there too.

20120126-082721.jpg

I bought this tunic (which I will wear with leggings) in a size small, probably the only small I will ever buy, for $15 bucks.

20120126-083435.jpg

20120126-083445.jpg

I got these (vegan) shoes half off! Score! Perfect for the wedding!

I think this whole shopping craze has been exaggerated by the fact that in two weeks I will be seeing my whole family, most of which I haven’t seen in a few years, and I want to look my best. They all know I’ve lost a lot of weight but I don’t think they have any idea as to what I actually look like. A part of me worries that they are expecting me to be skinny. It makes me nervous that they will look at me and think, “after all that, she’s still fat”. Which is true; I still have forty pounds to lose. I know it sounds stupid to think my family will be looking at me with a critical eye and I am sure they won’t but I still want to make sure I look good.

This weekend we’ll be hitting the stores again. Mostly for Paul though, although he hasn’t lost much weight his body has changed significantly. He needs smaller clothes too and he needs something to wear to the wedding. I, of course, will be scouring the clearance racks while he shops and I am sure I won’t be leaving empty handed.

Yep, I am pretty sure I need to start looking for a second job in order to offset this weekend shopping addiction 🙂

Thanks for reading!

January 26, 2012. Tags: , , , , , . Shopping.

8 Comments

  1. Shrinking Carrie replied:

    I love shopping! But only when I am smaller. Right now I am trying to hold out until the 50 Pound mark and then I will buy a few things. Happy shopping!

  2. Simply Sidney replied:

    I understand your addiction
    first those are awesome prices + second you look amazing = so much fun!!

    try to keep your mind off of what your family thinks of how you look and focus on how you feel
    maybe practice a little mantra or something & you can have Paul squeeze your hand in a special way to remind you of that mantra

    I’ve got tears in my eyes b/c you look so incredible, love it when u attach pics!!

  3. NewVeronica2011 (@NewVeronica2011) replied:

    I totally understand your new love for shopping. So happy for you 🙂 You look amazing!!

  4. Steph...In Motion replied:

    You look fantastic! And no, your family will not think you’re still fat. Be prepared for lots of “Don’t lose ANY MORE WEIGHT!” speeches. That’s a lot of people’s way of saying “You look good.” Which, by the way, you do. Just smile and say “OK”. 😉

  5. Angela Isola Maria replied:

    wow, dacia, you look AWESOME! so proud of you 🙂 i can’t wait to get to that point where i’m finding cheap clothes that fit at ANY store!

  6. Sarah Sederman Macdonald replied:

    Hi! I follow RA Vegan on facebook (I’m a gluten-free vegetarian with RA, trying to take the final leap into veganism), and she linked to your New Year’s challenges, so I’ve been following along as they are great reminders of living healthfully. Since being diagnosed with severe RA, I have found lifestyle (food, exercise, etc) to be the biggest combatant to staying pain and flare-free.

    A week or so ago, while surfing around, I ended up perusing many of your blog posts over the past year. I found them really inspiring – watching you set goals and then work and work to achieve them so consistently is really stunning. I’ve seen your weight loss in pictures, but the ones in this post were like “Wow! What a change!” So that’s my long-winded way of saying that even if your family *knows* you’ve lost a lot of weight, I don’t think they can imagine the transformation. Maybe it’s not just the weight loss, but also the healthier eating, drinking water, exercising, too, but you look amazing!

    Anyway, I hope you keep up with the challenges, they are a great reminder to keep working on being and staying healthy! — Sarah

  7. cassiebehle replied:

    AHHHH, I feel like I say this all the time, but I AM SO PROUD OF YOU!!! You look aaahmaaahzing, darlin’! Sorry for the late reply – I’ve been MIA for a few weeks and am only catching up on blogs now. Congrats on the wonderful shopping trip!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much Cassie!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

