Vacation Here I Come!!!

Paul and I have lived in six states in the seven years we have been married for. Most of our ‘vacations’ are really just traveling back home to see family. It is a rare occasion we go anywhere that doesn’t involve a family event of some sorts. Las Vegas trip was for our family reunion, New Orleans trip was Easter holiday with my parents. Not that this is a bad thing and this trip is no different. Tomorrow we are heading back to the Philly area for my cousin’s wedding. This time Paul and I decided to make the most of it and turn it into a vacation filled with things we want to do. Since I am from the area and Paul and I lived there together for a few years we have both seen all the touristy stuff so this trip we are going to hit up some really awesome places we have never been before. This is what we have planned:

Wednesday: travel day. Nothing exciting here. Once we land in Philly, get the rental car, and make our way to my parents house I am pretty sure we will be ready for bed not too long after we get there.

Thursday: driving 1.5 hours north of Philly to Bethlehem, PA; home of Paul’s favorite cigar distributor. They have a super store up there so we decided to make the trek up there so he can buy some cigars for the wedding and of course to restock his humidor at home. Luckily for me there is a vegan bakery in Bethlehem so after Paul is finished in cigar heaven I get to go to vegan baked goods heaven. Seems like a fair trade-off right?

After Bethlehem we will be driving down to Atlantic City, NJ; where the wedding will be held. Once we get to AC I am hoping to meet up with @mendingjen (Listen.Learn.Love.Mend) for some coffee, check into the hotel, hit the gym, grab some dinner, and gamble. Most of my family will be arriving Thursday night so it will be great to see them.

Friday: I’m hoping to get an early morning workout in and then schedule a couple’s massage for the two of us at the hotel spa. We are meeting @THINspired (Skinny Jean Dreams) for lunch and then we have the wedding at 4P so I am trying not to make too many plans as I want to relax and enjoy myself as much as possible.

Saturday: You know I’m going to hit the gym bright and early (these will be the only days we have gym access while we are gone) before leaving AC and heading to pick up our friends Jaime and Ian. The four of us are heading to Milton, DE to go visit the Dogfish Head Brewery. Dogfish is mine and Paul’s favorite beer and we are beyond thrilled to finally have a chance to go check out the brewery. From Milton we will head over to Rehoboth Beach, DE where the Dogfish Head Brew Pub is. More beer! More brewing! So excited!

Sunday: Starting the day off with Jaime’s mom, BH, who has invited me to join her at her Weight Watchers meeting. I am so excited to attend a new meeting, spend some time with BH and get to hear more about her success on Weight Watchers.

The rest of the day is going to be spent with my parents. The four of us will be going to see “One for the Money”. Mom and I are excited to see it since we both read the Janet Evanovich series. There has also been talk about going to a vegan friendly Chinese food restaurant for dinner. I’m excited to try this place with my parents since they both love Chinese food and are trying to eat more plant based meals.

*On a side note, both parents are now on medical restrictions that have taken greens out of their diet. Mom is on blood thinners due to blood clots and apparently is not allowed to have dark greens. Dad, who has been battling with complications from his surgery/hospitalization in August, was just diagnosed with gastro paresis and cannot eat roughage. So they left Texas addicted to Kale salad and now neither one of them can eat it. Weird.

Monday: Galentine’s day! Paul and I will be picking up Jaime and heading into the city (Philly) for the day. Paul will be joining us while we go to IKEA to grab something for Jax and Modell’s to stock up on some new Philly sports gear (as we both need smaller sizes) and lunch but then after that he is on his own to wander the city while Jaime and I have some girl time. I am really looking forward to this day. I miss being able to spend time with my best friend who I have only seen twice since leaving Philly in 2009. Sad 😦

Then home to NJ to my parents and we will spend our final evening with them. Not sure what we’ll do but that doesn’t really matter. It will be nice to just sit and talk and be around them a little more.

Tuesday: we travel home to Texas. We’ll have to leave around 9a for the airport; our vacation is over 😦 We’ll be back in SA by dinner time and I will be back to work the next day. Paul. The lucky bastard has another week off once we get back so his vacation will only be half over. Damn him! JK 😉

I have some awesome guest posts scheduled for when I am out of town and will be sure to post Week 7 of the New You Challenge by Sunday. I’m so excited for this vacation! I can’t wait! I also can’t wait to share it all with you once I am back and settled. I have some cool things brewing for when I’m back like another giveaway and new challenge that will be starting after the New You challenge finishes in a few weeks so stay tuned!

Thanks for reading!

February 7, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . Life, Travel.

6 Comments

  1. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Have a blast!

  2. jamesandjax replied:

    WP ate my comment! GRRRRRRR

    Anyway, I said something like: I’m so excited to spend time with you (and Paul)! Did you know that Dogfish Head is my favorite beer, too? Specifically, the Punkin Ale. I look forward to it every fall. I know it’s a longshot that they’ll have it on tap when we visit, but a girl can dream, right??

    Can’t wait to see you on Saturday!

    • Dacia replied:

      I’m sorry WP ate your comment.

      You have great taste in beer! Punkin is so yummy!

  3. Veronica (@NewVeronica2011) replied:

    Sounds like a great vacation! Can’t wait to see pics and hear all about it.

    Have fun and safe travels 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you! Can’t wait to post some!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

