Guest Post: the Reluctant Weight Watchers Foodie!

Hey Everyone!  Angela here (aka. The Reluctant Weight Watcher Foodie).  When Dacia asked if there was anyone interested in guest blogging for her, I immediately jumped at the opportunity!  She did that for me and it was about time I returned the favor.  I just had to figure out what to write about.

Let me start by telling you a little bit about myself.  I’ve been overweight my whole life, but it never really held me back.  I was content.  I didn’t have problems with socializing or dating or traveling… just minor concerns about how I looked (like any person does when they are getting ready to go somewhere) and I just pushed them aside.  I was a strong, confident BBW (still am)!  Then I met the love of my life and realized that if I wanted to have a family, I needed to lose weight.  Pregnancy (and parenthood) is EXPENSIVE and beautifully chaotic, so getting in shape became more important than ever.

I’ve been on (and off) Weight Watchers since November 2010.  My journey has been a bit different from Dacia’s.  She’s a machine!  I’m… an A/C set on auto.  Sometimes I’m on, sometimes I’m off.  Depends on the weather.  That’s my personality, though.  I get focused on one thing for a while, let most other things fall to the side and then I have to take a step back and re-gather my senses before moving forward again.  Right now, I’m back on!  In the past 14 months I’ve lost almost 45 lbs, but I still have about 110 lbs to go.  But hey!  It’s almost 1/3 of the way there.

Enough about my story, though.  Time to talk about my passion.  FOOOOOOOOOOOD.  Why do you think I got to over 300 lbs in the first place?  I love food.  I love new tastes and textures and flavor combinations and kitchen appliances.  I used to cook amazing full fat alfredo and Thai curries and brownies.  Now, I cook amazing LOW-fat alfredo, curry and brownies…. plus a lot of other stuff!  In fact, I’ve learned so much about how to create amazing healthy dishes that I think I finally figured out which career path I’m meant to pursue: Culinary Arts Extraordinaire!  This girl is going to culinary school!  Not sure when, but I’m hoping to be attending Le Cordon Bleu sometime within the next couple years.  Then I’ll know all the right techniques to really bring delicious, healthy food to the next level.

Right now, I enjoy combing through cookbooks and trying out new recipes to inspire my taste buds.  Then I share them with all my readers!  Now, I know that Dacia is happy vegan these days (so happy for her!), but I like meat.  And I’m sure that at least SOME of you readers out there like meat too, right?  I’ve decided to share a recipe with you since that’s what I do best 🙂

This recipe was inspired by one of my favorite cookbooks, the Best Ever Indian Cookbook. I’ve really been into Indian cuisine lately.  The depth of the flavor is incredible and there are actually quite a lot of dishes that come out to be really low in WW PointsPlus.  Many of the dishes are also SUPER fast to cook from start to finish, so as long as you have all your ingredients (and cooked rice in the fridge), you can make a delicious, different meal for yourself or your family in hardly any time.

Chopped Lamb with Curry Leaves and Chile

Servings: 2

PointsPlus Per Serving: 3

Ingredients

– 1 tsp oil, 1PP

– 1 medium onion, diced

– 5 curry leaves

– 3 green chiles (I used Thai chiles)

– 4 oz trimmed leg of lamb, 3PP (I bought a big lamb leg cut it up into 4 oz portions and froze them. It ended up being about $2 per portion which isn’t too bad! Plus, the meat is so tender!)

– 1/2 tsp crushed or minced garlic

– 1/2 tsp grated fresh ginger root (I peel mine, freeze it and grate it on demand. Faster, less mess, same intensity as if it was fresh!)

– 1/8 tsp turmeric

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 1 medium zucchini, sliced into half moons

– 3 mini sweet peppers, diced

 Directions

1. Take your lamb and chop it up into really small pieces, almost as if it was ground. If you are comfortable using a food processor to do this, go ahead.

2. Heat the oil in a wok or saute pan and fry up the onion, curry leaves and chiles.

3. Put the lamb into a bowl and mix in the garlic, ginger and spices.

4. Add the lamb mixture and salt to the onions and stir-fry for about 5-7 minutes.

5. Add the peppers and zucchini and stir-fry for another few minutes. Serve hot and enjoy!

This dish is best served with either brown rice or even with eggs!  And if you DID want to make it vegan, all you’d need to do is switch out the lamb for either chopped mushrooms or maybe tempeh or seitan.  You can also put in as much of the veggies as you’d like, just adjust the spices to match the amount. And as for any of the ingredients that you wouldn’t normally have in your house, just find a local asian grocer and you should be able to find them for a really good price.

February 10, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , . Cooking, Recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

