Monica’s Birthday Challenge

My very awesome friend Monica has a birthday coming up in April; on the 26th to be exact. A few months ago we decided to make a friendly bet- who can get closest to 150 pounds by her birthday. This was to help keep us motivated on our weight loss journeys. Monica also does Weight Watchers and although we no longer go to meetings together (since I do WW at work) we still try to encourage and help each other along the best we can. To be honest with you, I kind of forgot about this bet. We made it back in November, I think, and so much has been going on that it just slipped my mind.

That was until my friend Kelly mentioned to me the struggles she has been having with losing weight and I was feeling the exact same way. As I mentioned yesterday, two months into 2012 and I am at the same weight I was when I started the year. That’s definitely a hard pill to swallow. These struggles made me think about the bet I had made with Monica and I asked her if she would mind if I turned our bet into a weight loss challenge and she kindly agreed. This is how ‘Monica’s Birthday Challenge’ was created.

The Details

– The contest will run for eight weeks; February 25th through April 21st, 2012
– Your current weight must be emailed to me (thirtythreeandcounting@gmail.com) or DM via Twitter (@dacialee33) every Saturday starting this Saturday, February 25th
– Photos of starting and ending weight (scale display or WW log would be great) must be submitted via email
– Weekly challenges will be posted. These are not mandatory but I strongly encourage full participation
– Winner will be determined by the largest percentage of weight loss over the 8 week period
– Weight information will be kept private, the only number I will post on this blog is the percentage lost NOT the starting, ending, or interim weights.
– Each week I will post who is in first place and their total percentage lost to help give us something to work towards 🙂

The Winner

– To be eligible to win you must have submitted photos of your starting/ending weight as well as submitted your weekly weight to me every week of the competition
– The person meeting the above eligibility requirements with the largest percentage of weight loss at the end of the eight week period will be crowned the winner

The Prize

*I like the idea of customizing the prize for the winner so I reserve the right to tweak/change the prize package at the end however, it will include the following items
– Amazon or iTunes gift card (winner’s choice)
– Whole Foods gift card or if you don’t have a WF near you I will pick out some fun non-perishable items to send to you 🙂
– Bath/beauty product from Lush
– Anything else cool I find over the next two months to add to the pot 🙂

More than anything this is about having fun, focusing on losing weight in a healthy manner, and being able to brag about winning 😉 Since I am not a sponsored blogger the prizes furnished will come directly from me. This means the winner will have to share with me his/her address in order for me to mail the prizes 🙂

I will be participating and of course posting my weight weekly (to help keep me accountable) and my feedback on the challenges and I hope you do too. If you are a blogger I would love if you could link up to the challenge and share your feedback as well.

This challenge is open to both men and women. I’ve already asked Paul to participate (although neither of us is eligible to win) because it’s always fun having a partner to help push me through the tough patches. Please feel free to ask your spouse, partner, friends, and family to participate in the challenge along with you. The more the merrier 🙂

Weekly Challenge

This week’s challenge is focused on movement. It’s important that we make time everyday to get our bodies up and moving; whether it is hitting the gym, taking the doggies out for a walk or playing with the kids. Movement plays a big role in weight loss and living a healthy life. This week let’s dedicate 30 minutes each day to being active in some form.

So, to recap week one: make sure you email me your starting weight including a picture of the scale (or WW log if that’s easier) this Saturday, February 25th. The list of participants, including Twitter handle if you don’t mind, will be compiled and posted on the blog when I wake up Sunday morning and will act as the official list of participants. I hope we all can support and encourage each other through this challenge. Any ideas for a hashtag would be greatly appreciated! The weekly challenge (which is not mandatory, just recommended) is being active for 30 minutes each day. Most importantly; have fun!

Email: thirtythreeandcounting@gmail.com

Please feel free to contact me with any questions or comments!

Good luck and thanks for reading!

February 23, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , . Monica's Birthday Challenge, Weight Loss.

9 Comments

  1. Shrinking Carrie replied:

    I’m in! Can’t wait for Saturday!!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Awesome! I’m excited to have you participate! Woo hoo!

  2. mendingjen replied:

    I’m IN!!

  3. jakennicksmomma replied:

    OH, it is ON! On like Donkey Kong!

  4. Everyone’s a Winner | Blogging Molly replied:

    […] last, Dacia has initiated a fun contest to give us all a boost! Check out her blog here, enter her Monica’s Birthday Challenge, and get moving. […]

  5. weight watchers weigh in 18 « I eat, I run replied:

    […] joined Monica’s Birthday Challenge, which gave me a lot of motivation this week. Overall, I had a really good week. I toned back on […]

  6. Weekend Weigh-In 3/3/12 replied:

    […] week one of Monica’s Birthday Challenge wasn’t so bad. The goal was to get 30 minutes of activity everyday, and I didn’t do […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

