My First Year Blogiversary Celebration

This past Monday was my one year blogiversary. I was too sick to celebrate. That’s life, I guess.

I am feeling somewhat better now, thank you for asking, and am excited to finally have a diagnosis from the doctor; Vitamin D deficiency and anemia. I won’t bore you with the details other than I am going to start taking once a week vitamin d supplements and daily iron supplements and then in twelve weeks back to the lab to check my levels. Hopefully the supplements will make everything all better 🙂

Any who, today I want to celebrate this past year and all of the changes that have happened in my life. It’s amazing to look back on it and see how different my life is now. A year ago I was miserable and at my breaking point. The blog was my last hope. I desperately needed it, and the support of my six friends I told about it, to help push me and keep me accountable. I never thought that in a year’s time (which to me seemed so far in the future) I would grow into something so powerful and lead me here, healthy and happy.

When I first started I weighed 286 pounds which seemed like an impossible number to overcome. In order to get to the top of my healthy weight range (150 pounds) I would need to lose about 48% of my weight- almost half of me! That’s crazy! I needed to lose a healthy 5’5” woman in order to get to a healthy weight. Yikes! That was too much. So I started with small, realistic, short-term goals and rewarded myself when I reached them. That helped me focus on the progress I was making, instead of the giant mountain that lay in front of me, and gave me a sense of accomplishment.

I wasn’t always successful, it wasn’t always easy or rewarding but because of this blog and the amazing support team I have I was able to push through the tough spots. Because of this blog, and all of you, I am pushing through a tough spot right now. I am going to make it through all of this….because of you.

Thank you!

Over the course of the last year….

I walked a 5K for WordPress worldwide 5K day, for Weight Watchers, and for fun…

20120224-141757.jpg

20120224-141900.jpg

I took up boxing, which I now love, and after just six months was asked if I would write a testimonial for their website

20120224-142155.jpg

Boxing helped my confidence grow and because of it was able to try new things. I found Nia, my second great love. Nia became a passion of mine and it translated into confidence, self-love and personal acceptance. I was chosen as Nia San Antonio student of the month for September and in December I completed my Nia White Belt Intensive…

20120224-163421.jpg

My blog was featured in the Blog Watch section of the Edmonton Journal…

20120224-163603.jpg

I’ve been able to reconnect with my friends scattered around the country. These amazing ladies keep me in check!

20120224-163830.jpg

20120224-163839.jpg

20120224-163848.jpg

20120224-163858.jpg

I’ve made new friends and found great inspiration. My kindred spirits. I always know they are just a tweet/email/phone call away!

20120224-163937.jpg

20120224-164745.jpg

20120224-164756.jpg

20120224-164806.jpg

20120224-164845.jpg

I went on vacation twice. New Orleans in April and PA/NJ/DE in February…

20120224-164931.jpg

20120224-164939.jpg

20120224-164954.jpg

I went to lots of hockey games…. with and without the doggies

20120224-165057.jpg

20120224-165106.jpg

There were season ticket holder events, too…

20120224-165920.jpg

20120224-165928.jpg

I became a vegan and my compassion for animal rights grew exponentially…

20120224-170013.jpg

I climbed mountains…ok, more like really big rocks

20120224-170050.jpg

I laughed, cried, danced, stumbled, climbed, and fell…

I ran a mile without stopping.

I biked a 50K at the gym.

I started a new job.

I became the person I wanted to be; I started living the life I wanted.

I took more time for myself and in turn found the things that were truly important in my life.

I did all of this for me. I did it all with him. My love, my best friend, my number one supporter. Thank you, Paul! I love you!

20120224-170240.jpg

20120224-170251.jpg

20120224-170257.jpg

This year has changed me and my life so dramatically and I am thankful for these changes every day. I am truly blessed for all of this. I could not ask for more. Last year I was thirty-three and counting, this year I’m thirty-four and freaking fabulous!

Thanks for being with me this past year and I hope you will be with me for many more to come!

Thanks for reading!

February 24, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , . Blogging, Life, Love.

19 Comments

  1. Latina Barbi replied:

    speechless…. YOU LOOK AMAZING!!! muah!

  2. Shrinking Carrie replied:

    Happy Blogaversary(sp?)!!! I loved looking at all the changes you have gone through this past year! You look amazing and are doing even more amazing things! I can’t wait to see what happens in the years to come!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! It was really cool putting it all together!

  3. Veronica (@NewVeronica2011) replied:

    You are such an incredible woman! Your year has been amazing and I’m so happy for you! And I think there’s so many more incredible things coming your way!

    You have been such an inspiration and I am honored that you consider me your friend. I know you will continue to inspire and play a part in our WL journey’s and especially in our lives. Love you friend ❤

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! You are such a great friend and am so lucky to have you by my side through this journey and am honored to be with you through yours. Love ya!

  4. Whitney (@whitgetsfit) replied:

    What a great post! You have had an incredible year, and I’m honored to have witnessed your success along the way. Thank you for inspiring and enlightening me this past year. I look forward to many years of friendship! Congratulations on an incredible year, and thank you for counting me as part of your journey. You have truly been a large part of mine.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! It has been incredible. Looking forward to what I will be writing about in Feb 2013. Seems like the sky is the limit!

  5. rubyalison replied:

    Congratulations on your success!!!! Very inspiring! I hope a year from now I am able to share a similar story on my blog. I am so happy for you!

    -RubyAlison, http://positiveprettyhealth.blogspot.com/

    • Dacia replied:

      It’s amazing. I never thought I would come so far health, fitness, and weight loss wise in a year but I did. There is nothing special about my story other than I spent a majority of that year focused on making better choices for my health and putting myself first. In a year your story can be just like mine 🙂 Good luck! I can’t wait to watch your story unfold!

  6. infiknits replied:

    Happy blogiversary! I haven’t been her for your whole journey, but your post made me misty-eyed all the same!

    • infiknits replied:

      *here, not “her”, of course

    • Dacia replied:

      Aw, thank you so much! I am truly blessed to have people like you reading and supporting me through this ❤

  7. Diva on a Diet (@divaonadiet) replied:

    Awww, I am so glad to see this! What an amazing year you’ve had! I am so proud of you and can’t wait to see the even more amazing things that will happen to you this year! Keep it up! And thanks for being such an amazing inspiration!!! ~Alexis

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much Alexis!!! ❤

  8. Racheal K replied:

    Congratulations!! Everything that you’ve done in the past year is worth celebrating.

    A suggestion from one anemic person to another, try to make sure you are eating iron rich foods daily. Sometimes the body doesn’t absorb the iron supplements very well (vitamin c helps the absorption).

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! I eat tons of dark leafys but I need to make sure I am eating them with other foods that help with the absorption 🙂

  9. jamesandjax replied:

    Love this post so much I’ve favorited it so I can re-read it again and again. So inspiring, you! XOXO

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you!!! That is so awesome that you want to keep revisiting it. That means so much to me!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

