MB Challenge: My Week 1

Last Saturday was the first day of Monica’s Birthday Challenge (we have 31 participants, crazy) and that meant it was time for me to step on that scale. My starting weight was 178.0 pounds and I am more than ready to see that number drop over the next eight weeks. Although I am not competing to win, obviously, I am still going to facilitate and participate in all of the challenges and weigh in and track my percentage lost weekly.

This week’s challenge was to incorporate 30 minutes of activity into our daily routine. This is my activity plan for the week. Oh, I should also mention that I started the Couch to 5K program on Saturday so you will see those workouts popping into my workouts for the next few months. I really hope this program can help get me to the point where I can run a race this year. That was one of my goals/resolutions and I really want to achieve it in 2012.

Sunday: High intensity workout; 30 minutes bike, 15 minutes rower, 15 minutes stair master as hard as I could go

Monday: yoga at lunch and after work: 45 minutes on bike and Week1, Day2 of C25K

Tuesday: usually my rest day, will take the dogs out for a 30 minute walk

Wednesday: yoga at lunch and after work: 45 minutes on bike and Week1, Day3 of C25K

Thursday: High intensity workout; 30 minutes bike, 15 minutes rower, 15 minutes stair master

Friday: Endurance workout; 75 minutes on bike

Saturday: spin class

I really want to buy a bathing suit so I can start incorporate swimming into my workouts but I keep forgetting to make a trip to Target to shop for one. Maybe this weekend J

I also wanted to share with you my meal plan for the week. The next post I am going to put out will deal with following a vegan/plant-based diet and some of the myths associated with it. This post (the part about what I eat) will tie into that one.

Breakfast

Green Smoothie (M-F)

This is my weekday breakfast staple. I make mine with spinach, a banana, chia seeds, wheat grass powder, Amazing Grass super food (orange Dreamsicle flavor), water and ice. It is 214 calories, 37g carbs, 3g fat, 9g protein, and 12g fiber (5 WWPP)

Lunch

Salad and Three Bean Chili (M-W)

Salad consists of super greens mix, grape tomatoes, cucumber, zucchini, red bell pepper, broccoli sprouts, hemp seeds and dressing and the three bean chili has a ton of stuff in it; black beans, kidney beans and chickpeas, tomatoes, tofu, carrots, mushrooms, apple, bell peppers, celery, garlic, onion and spices. This comes out to 420 calories, 59g carbs, 10g fat, 22g protein, 15g fiber (9 WWPP)

Salad and Wrap/Pita (Th-S)

My lunches Thursday through Saturday will have the same salad as above but instead of chili I will have some kind of wrap or pita filled with either leftovers or veggies and hummus depending on what I end up bringing that day. I calculate the nutritional info/points that day so I am not sure what it will be but it will probably be around the same as the lunch above

Snacks

I usually have 2-3 snacks a day; an apple and almonds (15 at 3WWPP) in the morning, an orange and carrots in the afternoon and some kombucha (1WWPP) in the evening. If I am still hungry at night I will have some fruit or some baked tortilla chips or pretzels with my kombucha.

Dinner

Green Pizza (M)

Tonight’s dinner is green pizza. It uses whole wheat crust and is topped with sauce, broccoli, mushrooms, spinach, bell peppers, onion, garlic, basil and nutritional yeast. I am not sure how much I will actually eat but I figured it would be at most a half pizza which comes out to 498 cals, 84g carbs, 9g fat, 21g protein, and 16g fiber (12 WWPP) and I will probably have this with a small salad as well.

Pad Thai (T)

Red Beans over Quinoa and Kale (w)

Mac and Not-Cheese (Th)

Rip’s Roasted Salad (F)

Saturday dinner is not planned yet; we will be grocery shopping/meal planning that day

In case you are curious what my day’s intake of food will come out to if I eat as planned it will be – 1529 calories, 261g carbs, 30g fat, 60g protein, 59g fiber and 30 WWPP. The carbs are a little higher than my norm but that’s why I workout. The workouts I have planned for today will earn me 17 activity points so no, I don’t feel guilty in the least for eating all of those carbs.

How are you planning on getting your activity in this week? Have you set up a plan for the week to help you see a loss on Saturday?

Thanks for reading!

February 27, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , . Monica's Birthday Challenge, Weight Loss.

7 Comments

  1. wartica replied:

    Good luck with your program; yoga will definitely get the metabolism going – at least it does for me . Great post and I look forward to sharing more 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! I appreciate your comment. I love yoga and love that I get to spend a few hours every week on my lunch break decompressing.

  2. Meredith Clark (@meredithclark) replied:

    Hey Dacia! Thanks for sharing such an open and detailed post. This challenge came along when I was getting discouraged, and it’s right on time for me. Your current weight is eight pounds from my goal; isn’t it funny how we all want/need something different.

    I really appreciate this forum. I’ll be checking in regularly. In fact, I’m posting now to switch a detrimental habit (Thank-God-I’m-finally-home comfort eating) for a useful one (communicating with others).

    • Dacia replied:

      Good luck Meredith! I am so glad you are here and that this is more than just a contest for you. This is a journey, it has no end. That number on the scale is not our destination. It’s so much more than that!

  3. cassiebehle replied:

    green pizza, green smoothie….green eggs and ham? 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      No green eggs and ham but I could totally go for some green tofu and wham now. Lol!

  4. weighing in, #WW week 5 « Listen.Learn.Love.Mend replied:

    […] If I set goals, my accountability partners [my #ironsisters and MB co-challengers (I joined Monica's Challenge not to win a weight loss challenge but for the support)] need to know about them. If I don’t […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

