Updates and Explanations

I went back and edited yesterday’s post. That’s not something I typically do. Unless of course I spot a typo 😉

I am glad I did it though. Because of yesterday’s post I learned some new things and there was no way I wasn’t going update what I wrote to make the information more complete/accurate. The last thing I want to do is give you bad information.

With that being said I just want to address the obvious… I’m not a doctor, a nutritionist, a dietician or any other type of expert. Yesterday’s post was more about passing along weird factoids I have picked up over the past five months and nothing else.

I am not trying to convince you to become a vegan. I don’t think it’s for everyone. But it is for me.

I am not some super healthy person, either. There is just as much vegan junk food out there as there is non-vegan junk food.

Last night I ate a giant vegan chocolate chip cookie (5 WWPP) from Whole Foods. I probably shouldn’t allow myself as many indulgences as I do because a cookie is still a cookie. It’s still junk food, vegan or not.

I am just a person who is struggling everyday to make the best choices for my body and for my health.

Why? Because I am scared.

A year ago I was knocking on the door of the 300 pound mark. Although I hadn’t been diagnosed with obesity related ailments I was still physically sick. I had no energy. I struggled moving around or standing for long periods of time. It was only a matter of time before the diagnoses would have come.

In the past year I have come to realize that the only way I was going to extend my life and reduce my risk of heart attack/stroke/diabetes/high blood pressure etc was to get active and change my eating habits.

I do not want to rely on medicine to sustain my life. This is my opinion, my personal belief. It is not the future I want for myself.

I look at my father who at the age of 55 had a heart attack and subsequent quadruple bypass. The surgeon told him afterwards that he basically had a brand new heart (which he meant the arteries but you know what he meant) and would live another 40 years. Then three years later he was back in the hospital – another heart attack.

My dad was not overweight and he was pretty active. His diet may have been the contributing factor to his heart disease. Who knows; I’m no expert.

What I do know is that I don’t want a life where I have to carry around a list of medications in my wallet in case I am hospitalized and they need to make sure there won’t be any fatal drug interactions like my Dad does.

Will being a vegan keep me from having a heart attack? Maybe, maybe not. But what I do know is this- it has helped me so far. So does exercise. So does limiting processed foods. So do numerous other things.

And I do recognize that every person is different and that making any positive changes in your lifestyle can have a positive impact on health, not just choosing veganism.

For me, which is what this is all about right- my journey, it has helped rid me of some nasty digestive issues I struggled with all my life and for that I am very thankful.

Will it cure everything? Will I live to be 110? Only time will tell what will happen.

For now I will continue making the decisions I feel are best for me and my health. I will continue to learn and grow and change and I expect that from all of us. No matter what those decisions are 🙂

Thanks for reading!

March 1, 2012. Tags: , , , , , . Diet, Vegan, Weight Loss.

2 Comments

  1. Fauxy Lady replied:

    I’m a new vegetarian/almost vegan. Two weeks ago I weighed 243 lbs, the heaviest I’ve ever been. I realized, like you, that I didn’t want to rely on medications for my survival. I knew I would inevitably be diagnosed with an obesity related illness if I continued living the way I was. Yes, I’m just at the start of my journey, but reading your blog is inspiring me to continue. It is worth it.

    • Dacia replied:

      Wow! Congrats! I am so happy you too came to the same realization. I think we can fix our problems now so we don’t have to let it get to that point where we have no choice left. Good luck on your journey. Please feel free to email me (thirtythreeandcounting@gmail.com) if you ever want to talk or have questions.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

