Training

Two things happened yesterday that I foresee impacting my routine. First, Paul went to purchase a bike. A Cannondale CAAD 10 road bike specifically. So he can start training for his first triathlon in June. This is crazy to me because I am just barely two weeks into training for a 5K and now my husband is starting triathlon training. Jeez, I may never catch up to his level of athleticism.

What does this mean for me? Well it means a husband who is training almost daily. But unlike when he was training for the marathon he won’t be doing it with the Army. This means he will still need to get in his PT as well. Which means early mornings spent doing Army PT and evenings spent doing Tri training. I am super happy for him to start and I know he is going to love it. It just means less time together and I really like Paul so that is kind of sad 😦

It’s not all bad though. Yesterday while I was at the gym I noticed they have a 5am Zumba class AND it’s free. So I grabbed a copy of the weekly class schedule and saw that on Monday, Wednesday and Friday they have 5am Zumba classes so I asked the desk attendant if they were all free and he said yes. Score! Free classes work perfectly for my budget right now. It’s also the incentive I need to go back to morning workouts. Between the Zumba classes, biking at the gym and doing Couch to 5K I think I can easily fill my weekday mornings.

This means I will be able to come home after work and spend some time with Paul before he heads out to train. I think it will be good. It will give me more time to do other things like take the girls for long walks, take a leisurely bike ride around the city (I’m signing up for a B-cycle card- San Antonio’s bike sharing program), or hit up an aqua fitness class- if I ever get around to buying a bathing suit. It seems like the tri training and my morning workout routine will be a win-win for us both.

Paul is even thinking about joining a local team that specializes in triathlon training called Alamo 180. One of the cool things about this group, aside from having coaches there to help you, is that they have a run every Saturday morning that is open to the public. I am thinking that once I get better at my running I will hopefully be able to join up with them. It would be a lot of fun.

When Paul bought the bike yesterday he also snagged a Polar heart rate monitor for me from the shop for super cheap. I am pretty excited to start using it to help with my running. I am hoping to have it all set up for my next C25K training day on Saturday. It’s week 3, day 1 and my jogging intervals are about to get longer. I really happy I decided to start this program. I will let you know if I feel the same by the end of this week 😉

Oh, and I wanted to mention to all the readers who are also participating in Monica’s Birthday Challenge- I changed up what I am going to do for my personal challenge. I am hoping to not only do it tomorrow but also have some of it recorded so I can show it to you. Look for my slightly embarrassing video to pop up this weekend 🙂

Are you currently training for anything? Do you have any fitness goals you would like to achieve this year?

Thanks for reading!

March 8, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , . Exercise, Fitness.

2 Comments

  1. cassiebehle replied:

    LOVE zumba. The dance moves make me think I’ll be an uber sexy dancer at nightclubs on the weekend, but I think perhaps these two things are mutually exclusive…

    • Dacia replied:

      Yeah, I feel the exact same way. I take all of these dance type classes and yet I still can’t dance. Lol!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

