Music and Inspiration

I love music…it feeds my soul.

I was lucky to be raised by two people who love music and was surrounded by it all of my life. There are pictures of me as a child, even as an infant, at concerts and festivals with my parents and their friends.

My adolescence was filled with music, too. I played a few different instruments and spent my teenage years going to shows all over Philly and wherever else I could drive too on my limited budget.
Music was a huge part of my everyday life.

And yes, I do believe this world would be better if music filled the streets like a soundtrack to life.

Music is a must for me during my workouts whether it’s being played at the classes I take, Nia, yoga, boxing, or whether I am listening to my iTunes. I workout without music is torturous.

What I am listening to is just as important as having something to listen to. Not like I am a music snob or anything but I look for inspiration in the lyrics and beats so I try to pick songs that make me happy and keep me moving.

And isn’t funny when that perfect song comes on at just the right moment?

“My body tells me no, but I won’t quit. Cause I want more, cause I want more.”- My Body by Young the Giant. My bestie says she thinks of me every time she hears it even though we’ve never talked about this song before. Isn’t that cool?

“It’s not supposed to be easy…that’s why it feels so f***ing good.” Jump on my Shoulders by AWOLNATION

“I think I found my place. Can’t you feel it growing stronger? Little conquerors.” Walk by the Foo Fighters

“You gotta be stronger than the story, don’t let it blind you. Rivers of shadow, this feeling won’t go.” This is Your Life by the Killers

“Never was a cornflake girl, thought that was a good solution.” Cornflake Girl by Tori Amos

“When you’re happy like a fool, let it take you over. When everything is out you gotta take it in.” Good Life by OneRepublic

But my absolute favorite workout song is ‘Timshel’ by Mumford & Sons. It’s not really the kind of song you think of for a workout song; it’s not really upbeat and it doesn’t have a fast tempo. I love it because of the words.

“Cold is the water
It freezes your already cold mind
Already cold, cold mind
And death is at your doorstep
And it will steal your innocence
But it will not steal your substance
But you are not alone in this
And you are not alone in this
As brothers we will stand and we’ll hold your hand
Hold your hand”

Every time I hear this song I think that I am not alone on this journey and for those of you long time readers you will probably remember a post I wrote about this song and how it brings me comfort thinking of you here with me along the way.

Every choice I make, every word I write is for me but I always think of you. This journey; mine, yours, ours, it’s so much bigger than we realize. We lose pounds, we change habits, we exercise but really we grow, heal and evolve. It is truly life-changing.

And when I am on the bike or treadmill and I hear those words ‘you are not alone’ it brings a tear to my eye (as it does just writing it now) because for the first time in my life I truly believe it.

Thanks for reading!

March 9, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . Exercise, Fitness, inspiration, Music.

4 Comments

  1. cassiebehle replied:

    Timshel just came on my Pandora during work today. 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      And did you think ‘man, that’s a great workout song’? Lol!

  2. jamesandjax replied:

    I heard My Body this morning on the radio. I swear, I can’t NOT think of you every time I hear it–ever since the very first time! It threw me for a loop when you mentioned it a few weeks ago.

    I’ll have to listen to Timshel on spotify at work today. I’m sure I’ve heard it before, because I have that album. I’m just awful with song titles!

    • Dacia replied:

      Ha ha! And now every time I hear it I think of you 😉

      Yeah, I’m bad with song titles too. Especially ones like Timshel, which is not even a word in the song. Lol!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

