MB Challenge: Week Three Results and Week Four Challenge

Another week has come to an end for Monica’s Birthday Challenge. I know this has been an interesting week for me, to say the least. It was filled with trials and triumphs and I feel like I am coming out of it ready for the next leg of my journey.

Were you able to keep up with the challenge of no excuses this week? I hope so. It helped me every time I wanted to go back to bed instead of hitting the gym in the AM.

Well, the results are in and our current leader is Alexis A. (@divaonadiet) with a total loss of 4.32% so far. Woo hoo! Congrats Alexis! That’s pretty amazing!

Are you ready to try to steal the lead from Alexis this week?

Congrats and good job to and to everyone who reported in this week. You may have done better, worse or as expected but by being accountable to yourself and the scale you acknowledge that this is a journey and that along it you will encounter all sorts of bumps in the road. Just keep at, be honest with yourself, and hold your head up high. You should be proud of where you are and how far you’ve come.

Are you ready for week 4 and the new challenge?

We’ve been focusing on fitness these past three weeks so this challenge is going to be all about the other half of the equation- food.

Through a Google search the other day I found this article on LIVESTRONG and it inspired me to turn it into a challenge. The article talks about problems associated with the typical American diet. Basically, in a very quick summary, we eat too much sugar, high-fructose corn syrup, processed/refined foods and not enough fiber. I thought about what this article said and whether or not these statements apply to my diet.

I eat A LOT of fiber. That kind of happens when your diet consists of grains, legumes and plants. So the fiber thing is not too big of a concern for me.

I don’t eat too many processed/refined foods. I try to stick to eating only whole grains and there are relatively few things I buy that are refined/processed I buy.

I don’t ingest much high-fructose corn syrup. I don’t drink soda. I really limit processed foods which helps keep the HFCS at bay.

I do, however, eat sugar. Yes, I do use organic, vegan sugar (trust me, you don’t want to know why regular sugar is not usually vegan approved) and limit the amount of white sugar I use but I still eat sugar nonetheless. Like how once a week I eat a half (or sometimes a whole) cupcake from Green or a chocolate chip cookie from Whole Foods.

Plus this week I baked up two batches of beer cookies which used both white and brown sugar.

Oh, and I use jam on my toast. The jam is made with sugar.

Oh, wait. There is also sugar in my salad dressing.

And added to spaghetti sauce.

Damn that sneaky sugar!

So this week, the challenge is to eliminate (or add, in the case of the fiber) one of these things from your diet. Or if there is something else you wanted to try, like maybe eliminating dairy, then you could do that instead. Don’t make it too easy though. Like eliminating something you seldom eat or something you dislike already. That’s kind of like cheating 😉

This week you can choose to eliminate:

Sugar or High-fructose Corn Syrup

Limit processed/refined Foods

Or increase your intake of fiber

Or add/eliminate something of your own choice

My challenge is going to be to eliminate sugar from my diet. And I am pretty sure it will be a lot harder than I think.

What will you choose for your challenge?

Good luck and thanks for reading!

March 18, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , . Monica's Birthday Challenge, Weight Loss.

5 Comments

  1. mendingjen replied:

    I am going to UP my veggie intake and DECREASE the junkie stuff. I will stick with fruits for my sweet-needs and eat real food when I am hungry! I will plan so I don’t have any excuse to grab something junky!

    Thanks for the challenge!

    XOXO

  2. monicaams replied:

    This is a totally great challenge! I plan to up my fiber intake and try to lower my sugar in take.

  3. jakennicksmomma replied:

    This challenge scares me a little. I need a little more time to think about what I want to eliminate….

  4. Erica Zamsky Hunt (@MommaHunt16) replied:

    Last week was rough for me I had hoped to exercise more but with kiddos that waned to go outside and a meeting every day after work the workouts didn’t happen and I gained two pounds…boo! But on a brighter note we have a new week infront of us! My goal is more fiber and less processed food. I already eat fairly “clean” but it is always a good idea to keep an eye on what is creeping into my diet

  5. jamesandjax replied:

    I’m always on the lookout for partially hydrogenated oils (which goes along with your point about processed foods, really), corn sugar (the rebranded name for HFCS), and parabens. Yesterday, while at the Acme, I could not find a kids’ toothpaste that didn’t have sugar and parabens on the ingredient list. I mean, seriously???!!! So I bought the best one I could until I can place an order online. But I was NOT happy.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

