MB Challenge: Week Five Results and Week Six Challenge

Another week has come to an end for Monica’s Birthday Challenge. We only have a few weeks left so it’s about to get crazy. I am about to become your worst enemy. OK, I may be exaggerating but the reality is you might not like me very much after you see this week’s challenges. Yep, challenges. Plural. Three in fact. But we have some business to take care of first.

The results are in and our current leader is still Alexis A. (@divaonadiet) with a total loss of 4.91% so far. Woo hoo! Congrats Alexis! That’s pretty amazing!

I just have to mention that this has been the closest leaderboard to date. Someone is right behind Alexis at 4.90%. Isn’t that crazy? Right now first and second are within 1/100 of each other. This is still anybody’s game so keep pushing!

I’m excited to see if next week we will have a new leader or can Alexis hold on to her spot?

Congrats and good job to and to everyone who reported in this week. You may have done better, worse or as expected but by being accountable to yourself and the scale you acknowledge that this is a journey and that along it you will encounter all sorts of bumps in the road. Just keep at, be honest with yourself, and hold your head up high. You should be proud of where you are and how far you’ve come.

Are you ready for week 6 and the new challenges?

It’s about to get real up in here….lol! Yeah, I am pretty dramatic about all this. I want everyone to take it serious this week and really bring your A game!

Challenge 1: Kick-Ass April from Shrinking Jeans

I am kicking myself for not participating in the March challenge from the awesome ladies over at the Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans. Not this month though.  I am not missing out on April’s move-it challenge and I don’t want you to either. It’s a good one. The focus is on legs and it will be challenging getting through the month so let’s start with week one’s plan and go from there. Each day this week (with the exception of Saturday which is a rest day) we will be doing squats, burpees and wall sits. The post about this challenge (click here) has the whole month laid out for us as well as instructions for how to complete each exercise. I have my calendar printed and on the fridge ready to go. You won’t need but a few minutes each day to do this but I promise it will be a great and rewarding challenge. The Sisterhood doesn’t disappoint.

Challenge 2: Racking up the Miles

Ok walkers, runners, bikers,  and ellipticalers (doubt that is a real word) it’s time to start counting our miles. This week I am challenging my walkers/runners/ellipticalers to log a minimum of 15 miles. And anyone who bikes/cycles I challenge you to log 50 miles. Of course you can always go crazy and try for 65 miles doing both- combining the walking/running and biking minimum goals. Did you guess that is what I am going to try for this week? I’m so predictable. If you don’t typically walk, run or bike then this is your week to give it a whirl. Walking for 30-40 minutes daily can probably get you 15 miles this week so give it a try. It’s a challenge, it should be challenging.

Challenge 3: The Hunger Games

Food. Ugh! I really would love to give you some crazy food challenges but that’s just not fair so I am going to stick with last week’s food challenge (because it doesn’t involve buying/trying anything new or spending any additional money)  but with a tweak. Last week I challenged you to only eat when you are hungry and to stop eating when you are full. I talked about mindless snacking and overeating being my weaknesses and wanted us to focus on listening to our bodies and our hunger cues to eat only when we were hungry.  However, I forgot to mention something equally important. If you are hungry then you need to eat. There is no way around this. If your body is telling you it needs food then listen to it. I know I struggled with this early on in WW because I would be hungry at the end of the day but not have any points left so I wouldn’t eat. That’s not good. Especially if you are exercising. Your body needs fuel. It needs to repair itself. Eat when you are hungry, stop when you are full. Seems pretty easy but it really isn’t.

Ok, so that’s about it for this week. Are you ready for the challenge? Are you ready to really push yourself this week? I hope so. I can’t wait to do some burpees tonight! Well, not really but damn if I’m not ready to challenge myself this month!

Good luck and thanks for reading!

 

April 1, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . Monica's Birthday Challenge, Weight Loss.

One Comment

  1. Action Plan and FMM: When I Was a Kid replied:

    […] my weekly challenges. This means to keep up with the  MB Challenges of the week: Kick Ass April, Racking Up the Miles, and The Hunger Games. This can SO be done on a […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

