Truth Tuesday: What Am I Doing?

I weighed in at my Weight Watchers meeting today and the scale said I lost 2.4 pounds. I was happy that I lost but I am not happy about this:

On May 8th I weighed in at my meeting at 167.8

The following week I weighed in at 169.8

The week after that, 169.8 again

Last week no weigh in, I was home sick

Today my meeting weight was 167.4

So, in a month of meetings I have lost 0.4 pounds

Am I happy that it is a negative and not a positive? Of course

Am I happy that my weight keeps bouncing back and forth? Absolutely not

Some days I feel my WLJ is like being on a treadmill- I’m running and running but I’m not going anywhere.

I know this lack of progression falls solely on my shoulders. I have a good week and then I follow it up with a not so good week. Why is it so easy to gain and so freaking hard to lose?

Why can’t I have a good week and then follow it up with another good week? Why does that seem to be so hard lately?

I don’t have any answers to share with you. This is something I have to look into a little deeper and see what is going on.

What I do have is a goal. Well two goals actually.

The first is a little challenge between me and my friend Roni 😉 to see if we can both lose two weeks in a row. If you are also having the same problems I am please feel free to join us in our two week challenge. I set it as my goal so now I just need a plan that will help me achieve it. I’ll check back in with you next Tuesday to let you know how it went.

My other goal came from my Weight Watchers meeting. Today we talked about our goal for the summer and how we are going to achieve it. If you read this blog frequently then you’ll know that I already set a goal to reach my goal weight by Labor Day. So, when we were asked in the meeting what our goal was for the summer I already knew.

Our leader talked about how if we followed the six principles of Weight Watchers for the next 14 weeks we could lose between 7 and 28 pounds. My goal is smack in the middle of those numbers at 17.4 pounds by Labor Day. This is a totally reasonable amount, just a little more than a pound a week.

Our weekly handout had a summer calendar in it and we were told to mark on it any events that may disrupt our routine. She asked us to take some time today and fill it out but to also bring it with us to every meeting so we can discuss them with our group.

We also set goals for three different areas; weight, activity, and lifestyle.
These are mine:

My weight today: 167.4

What I hope to weigh by Labor Day: 150

Activities I’ll be doing: running, cycling, yoga

Something new I’ll try: crossfit (I can hear you laughing, Monica)

How often and how long I’ll plan to be active: 5-6 days a week, minimum 45 minutes a day

Something I’ve long wanted to do/learn/try: ziplining

How I’ll make it happen: call and make the dang reservation already, dummy! (Ok, I didn’t write dummy in my weekly handout but maybe I should have)

So that’s my plan for the summer. I know it won’t be easy; there will be numerous disruptions popping up here and there but if I just plan for them and around them I know I can be successful.

How about you? What is your summer time goal? Where do you want to be by Labor Day and do you have a plan on how to get there?

Thanks for reading!

June 5, 2012. Tags: , , , , , . Weight Loss, Weight Watchers.

One Comment

  1. jamesandjax replied:

    Wishing you lots of luck avoiding disruptions and success with your goals. I’ve been rollercoastering up and down over 4 or 5 lbs over the past month. What is up with that?!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

