Recipe Review

This week I tried a few new recipes from the Whole Foods website. If you are ever looking for recipes or new ideas check out their website; it’s awesome. I love it because I can search for recipes tagged vegan instead of searching through all of them trying to find some that might work for me. They of course have a ton of non-vegan recipes and from what I’ve seen they look fantastic.

My favorite recipe I tried this week was Pasta Bake with Tofu Cheese. Oh my word it was amazeballs. It’s like having baked ziti or lasagna without the layers. It was very reminiscent of the heavy, cheesy, ooey gooey yummy pasta dishes I grew up eating. However, it was cheese less. It wasn’t heavy at all. It was filling but not in a ‘I have to unbutton my pants’ way and just as tasty (tastier in my opinion) than the original it’s based off of. Since you are using tofu instead of cheese you totally up the protein content making it a dish that keeps you feeling full long after you’ve eaten. It rocks.

Go make this

Now

It has only nine ingredients and you probably have at least three (olive oil, salt and pepper) in your pantry already.

Pasta Bake with Tofu Cheese
​*From Whole Foods
Serves 4
Serve this vegan baked pasta with a simple salad and steamed vegetables.

Ingredients

8 ounces small whole wheat pasta shells
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
2 cups pasta sauce, divided
1 (14-ounce) package soft tofu, drained
1 teaspoon dried basil
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1/2 cup soy or rice Parmesan-style cheese, divided
Salt and black pepper

Method

Preheat oven to 375°F. Cook pasta in boiling salted water according to package instructions. Drain well and transfer to a 7-x-11-inch baking dish. Stir in olive oil and a cup of the pasta sauce. Set aside.

Put tofu, basil, garlic, half the cheese, salt and pepper in the bowl of a food processor. Process until the mixture reaches the consistency of ricotta cheese. Taste and adjust seasonings. Spread tofu mixture over the cooked pasta and top with remaining pasta sauce. Sprinkle with remaining 1/4 cup cheese. Bake until bubbly, 30 to 40 minutes. Serve immediately.

*I had some Daiya mozzarella vegan cheese on hand so I topped the pasta with that instead of the remaining ¼ cup of parmesan. It was so good. This would be the perfect addition to your Meatless Monday repertoire. Two thumbs up!

Speaking of food, what do you have planned for the big game Sunday? I checked out a bunch of vegan-friendly party food/snack recipes posted on different websites but I haven’t really decided on anything yet. To be honest, I am more concerned with packing for my vacation next week than I am with the Super Bowl. Can you blame me- I’m an Eagles/Bills fan so I have a strong dislike for the Giants and the Pats. Oh, well. I will still watch. I love the commercials 😉

Thanks for reading!

February 3, 2012. Tags: , , , , , . Cooking, Vegan.

6 Comments

  1. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Um, that does sound wonderful! Salivating. Must. go. buy. ingredients. NOW!

    • Dacia replied:

      Oh, and it makes 4 BIG servings. It’s a fourth of a 7×11 casserole. It’s not a skimpy recipe. Yum! With the ingredients I used it came out to 9PP per serving. Score!

  2. Recipe Review « thirtythreeandcounting | ClubEvoo replied:

    […] Follow this link: Recipe Review « thirtythreeandcounting […]

  3. cassiebehle replied:

    Yum. Have you ever tried Hungry Girl’s recipes? She lightens up meals that are known for being fat traps. http://www.hungry-girl.com/ Check it out! 🙂

  4. Simply Sidney replied:

    I’m totally going to try this, you convinced me with this line: It was filling but not in a ‘I have to unbutton my pants’ way and just as tasty (tastier in my opinion) than the original it’s based off of

    Bonus that I only need the tofu too. The ingredient list are all staples for me. I make/freeze my pasta sauce & grow/freeze my basil.

    Thanks for the suggestions!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Can’t wait to hear how it turns out! Always glad to help inspire others to try something new 🙂

Leave a comment

Trackback URI